Death Rolls the Dice (Kate McCall Series #3)

Death Rolls the Dice (Kate McCall Series #3)

by Gail Oust

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Death Rolls the Dice (Kate McCall Series #3) by Gail Oust

"Far superior . . . this uniquely capricious mystery will engage readers from the very first page to the surprising conclusion." --Publishers Weekly on Murder Is Dicey

Welcome to Serenity Cove, a peaceful Southern community where the residents like to play dice, play golf and, when foul play moves in, play detective.

When it comes to gardening, Kate McCall is known for having a brown thumb, but when the Serenity Cove garden club hosts an event featuring a celebrity botanist--who's also a former college roommate of Kate's friend Rita--she plants herself in the audience with all the other Bunco Babes. Before the evening can even get off the ground, though, the guest speaker and her boyfriend are rushed to the hospital with food poisoning, where he eventually dies.

Convinced that her boyfriend's death was no accident and that she too was meant to die, the famous botanist begs Kate to investigate. Glad to have a chance to use her newly acquired detective skills, Kate starts digging for clues--even when that means adding Rita to the list of suspects. And as the trail grows more tangled and treacherous, Kate realizes she'll have to weed out the killer quick, before she's the next thing they plant in the ground.

This book was originally published under the title Shake, Murder and Roll.

Praise for Rosemary and Crime by Gail Oust!

"[A] quality first in a Southern cozy series. . . . This is a must-read for fans of Carolyn Hart's Death on Demand series, as well as those who like culinary mysteries." --Publishers Weekly

"Gail Oust has crafted an excellent mystery. . . . Truly a cut above--and highly recommended!" --Donna Andrews, New York Times bestselling author of Hen of the Baskervilles

"Fans of Jenn McKinlay and Ellery Adams will want to add this series to their reading lists." --Booklist

"Gail Oust has whipped up a killer read. . . . Rosemary and Crime is a character-driven zip zap of a tale with a robust mystery that readers will relish." --Jenn McKinlay, New York Times bestselling author of Book, Line, and Sinker

"A delicious new mystery series guaranteed to make you hungry for more. Gail Oust's warm, witty characters bring southern charm to life." --Krista Davis, national bestselling author of The Diva Digs Up the Dirt

"Gail Oust has created a delicious new addition to the world of cozy mysteries. I'm definitely adding her to my must-read list." --Jacklyn Brady, national bestselling author of Arsenic and Old Cake

Product Details

BN ID: 2940156677269
Publisher: Beyond the Page Publishing
Publication date: 11/10/2015
Series: Kate McCall (Bunco Babes) Series , #3
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 242,108
File size: 673 KB

About the Author

Friends often accuse Gail Oust of flunking retirement. While working as a nurse/vascular technologist, Gail penned nine historical romances under the pseudonym Elizabeth Turner for Avon, Pocket, Berkley, and Kensington. It wasn’t until after she and her husband retired to South Carolina that inspiration struck for a mystery. Hearing the words “maybe it’s a dead body” while golfing with friends fired her imagination for this series. Gail is currently writing the Spice Shop Mysteries for Minotaur/St. Martin’s. When she isn’t reading, writing, or sleeping, she can usually be found on the golf course or hanging out with friends.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Shake, Murder, and Roll 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
Serenity Cove Estates, South Carolina is a retirement community where Kate McCall chose to live after her husband retired. When he died, she stayed there making friends with several women who formed the Bunco Babe's squad because they love playing the dice game of the same name. Retirement villages are normally serene, but Kate does not know the meaning of the word as she has been involved in two homicide cases that she solved (see Whack and Roll and "Till Dice Do Us Part). Another death occurs when Dr. Sheila Rapport, host of a cable gardening show, gives a talk at Serenity Cove. In the middle of her speech, Sheila collapses. Her companion Dr. Vaughn Bascomb has a more serious reaction and dies. When Sheila recovers, she tells Kate they were poisoned. Knowing Kate's track record, she asks her to find out the killer is though she assumes it is a stalker. Kate uncovers a horde of suspects with means, motive and opportunity for one of the pair, but who wanted both dead remains just out of reach until the culprit tries to kill Kate. Putting aside the fact that Kate risks her life as a sub-genre hazard, she and the women in the retirement community are energetic and active. Kate is a believable character who refreshingly admits she addicted to homicide investigation. Her love life adds pizzazz to the mix as Kate like the other Buncos babes roll the dice on murder. Harriet Klausner