Shamong Township, incorporated in 1852, was originally a part of Evesham Township. It is one of many communities that make up the Pinelands National Reserve. Shamong is a Native American word meaning “place of the horn” or “place of many deer.” From 1758 until 1802, 3,284 acres of the township were home to the first and only Native American reservation in New Jersey. Prominent citizens of old Shamong included John B. Gardner, former mayor of Atlantic City, Civil War veteran, and United States congressman. James Still, the famed “black doctor of the Pines,” was born in Shamong in 1812, and his younger brother, William Still, is celebrated as the father of the Underground Railroad. The photographs in Shamong provide a visual reminder of the past and celebrate the history of this community, which remains a vibrant rural and residential area.
About the Author
George D. Flemming, historian for the Indian Mills Historical Society, is a lifelong resident of southern New Jersey. He has been a student of history and archaeology for more than 50 years. He attended the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania and the Charles Morris Price School of Journalism in Philadelphia.
Table of Contents
1 In the Beginning 9
2 The Brotherton Reservation 25
3 The Village of Indian Mills 33
4 The Village of Tabernacle 53
5 The Village of Atsion 61
6 Rural Life 83
7 Education in Days Gone By 97
8 The Deer-Hunting Clubs 105
9 Early Taverns 113
10 The People of Old Shamong 119