Shift into Freedom: The Science and Practice of Open-Hearted Awareness

Shift into Freedom: The Science and Practice of Open-Hearted Awareness


$17.06 $18.95 Save 10% Current price is $17.06, Original price is $18.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Use Standard Shipping. For guaranteed delivery by December 24, use Express or Expedited Shipping.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781622033508
Publisher: Sounds True, Incorporated
Publication date: 09/01/2015
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 410,434
Product dimensions: 6.20(w) x 9.20(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Loch Kelly

Loch Kelly, MDiv, LCSW, is a leader in the field of meditation and psychotherapy. He is author of the award-winning Shift into Freedom and founder of the Open-Hearted Awareness Institute. Loch is an emerging voice in modernizing meditation, social engagement, and collaborating with neuroscientists. For more, visit

Adyashanti is an American-born spiritual teacher devoted to serving the awakening of all beings. His teachings are an open invitation to stop, inquire, and recognize what is true and liberating at the core of all existence. His books include Emptiness Dancing, The End of Your World, True Meditation, The Way of Liberation, and Falling into Grace.

Asked to teach in 1996 by his Zen teacher of 14 years, Adyashanti offers teachings that are free of any tradition or ideology. "The Truth I point to is not confined within any religious point of view, belief system, or doctrine, but is open to all and found within all." For more information, please visit

Table of Contents

Foreword Adyashanti IX

Introduction 1

Part I The View

1 Being Home While Returning Home 11

2 Direct Recognition, Gradual Unfolding 33

3 Local Awareness 55

4 Location, Location, Location 71

5 The Art and Science of Awakening 97

Part II The Shift of Knowing and Identity

6 Thinking as the Sixth Sense 123

7 Nonconceptual Awareness 137

8 A Simple Case of Mistaken Identity 153

9 The Anatomy of Awareness 173

10 Open-Hearted Awareness 187

Part III The New Normal

11 The Next Stage of Human Development 203

12 Effortless Mindfulness 219

13 Living from Being 235

Conclusion: Dancing Stillness 257

Notes 261

Acknowledgments 269

Index 271

About the Author 279

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews