Shifting Sands of Time

Shifting Sands of Time

by Wayfaring Strangers



A veritable acoustic music supergroup led by violinist/violist Matt Glaser with banjo player Tony Trischka, legendary mandolinist Andy Statman, pianist Bruce Barth, and others, and featuring guest appearances by bluegrass elder Ralph Stanley, newgrass fiddler Darol Anger, songwriter Tim O'Brien, vocalist Tracy Bonham, folksinger Lucy Kaplansky, and many others. The music is a gentle and gorgeous fusion of string band music and chamber jazz in the spirit of Edgar Meyer, Mike Marshall, and Bela Fleck's Uncommon Ritual project, as well as efforts by the Deadly Nightshade Family Singers. Of note is a surprisingly delicate take on "Man of Constant Sorrow" sung by Stanley, which is capped by a stunningly subtle improvisation by pianist Lazlo Gardony and bassist John Repucci. Also stunning is Kaplansky's haunting take on the traditional "Wayfaring Stranger." The production is suitably warm throughout, lending much depth to producer/arranger Glaser's vision of secular spiritual music. Statman's highly soulful mandolin and clarinet playing adds immeasurably to the deeply gorgeous tone of the disc.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/06/2001
Label: Rounder / Umgd
UPC: 0011661048423
catalogNumber: 610484

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Wayfaring Strangers   Primary Artist
Laurie Lewis   Vocals
Ralph Stanley   Vocals
Tony Trischka   Banjo
Rhonda Vincent   Vocals
Darol Anger   Violin
John Blake   Violin
Laszlo Gardony   Piano
Matt Glaser   Violin,Viola,Musical Direction
Andy Statman   Clarinet,Mandolin
Lucy Kaplansky   Vocals
Bruce Barth   Piano
Eugene Friesen   Cello
Jamey Haddad   Percussion
Jennifer Kimball   Vocals
Richard Lieberson   Acoustic Guitar
John McGann   Acoustic Guitar,Mandolin
Tim O'Brien   Vocals
Mark Simos   Acoustic Guitar
Jim Whitney   Bass,Acoustic Bass
Marty Confurius   Bass,Acoustic Bass
Cathie Ryan   Vocals
Tracy Bonham   Vocals
Lisa Aschmann   Track Performer
Ry Cavanaugh   Vocals
Rushad Eggleston   Cello
Carrie Rodriguez   Violin
John Repucci   Bass

Technical Credits

Darol Anger   Liner Notes
John Blake   Liner Notes
Joseph   Engineer
Matt Glaser   Arranger,Producer,Liner Notes,Musical Director
Edward Haber   Producer,Engineer
Michael Marciano   Engineer
Mark McKenna   Engineer
James Mussen   Engineer
Ed Reed   Engineer
Alan Senauke   Liner Notes
Bruce Tergesen   Engineer
Joseph Marciano   Engineer
Jon Weisberger   Liner Notes
Andy Edelstein   Producer,Engineer
Wayfaring Strangers   Arranger
Shawn Levesque   Cover Design
Reed   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews