Shirley Jackson's American Gothic

Shirley Jackson's American Gothic

by Darryl Hattenhauer

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780791487426
Publisher: State University of New York Press
Publication date: 09/18/2009
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 354 KB

About the Author

Darryl Hattenhauer is Associate Professor of English at Arizona State University West.

Table of Contents


Introduction: Shirley Jackson and Proto-Postmodernism

1. Some Conditions of Production

2. The Lottery or, The Adventures of James Harris (1949)

3. Come Along with Me: Part of a Novel, Sixteen Stories, and Three Lectures (1968)

4. Just an Ordinary Day (1996)

5. The Road Through the Wall (1948)

6. Hangsaman (1951)

7. The Bird’s Nest (1954)

8. The Sundial (1958)

9. The Haunting of Hill House (1959)

10. We Have Always Lived in the Castle (1962)



Works Cited


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews