Shore Leave

Shore Leave

by Yung WuYung Wu


$14.48 $14.99 Save 3% Current price is $14.48, Original price is $14.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, July 30


One of the most overlooked and underrated albums to emerge from the Feelies universe, Yung Wu's Shore Leave ranks highly in the group's oeuvre, at least the equal of and in some ways superior to the three albums the Feelies released under their own name between 1985 and 1991. Yung Wu was led by singer/songwriter Dave Weckerman, who had been the drummer in the Feelies' first lineup before being replaced by Anton Fier. Backed by Glenn Mercer and Bill Million on guitars (they also produced the album), John Baumgartner on keyboards, Brenda Sauter on bass, and Stanley Demeski on drums, Weckerman finds a midway point between the mellow, twangy rootiness of contemporaneous Feelies records like Only Life and the more tightly wound jangle of 1980's Crazy Rhythms. Resulting songs like the title track, "Spinning," and the quietly tense "Return to Zion" are archetypal examples of the Hoboken sound that was a mainstay of late-'80s college radio. The album's three covers -- Neil Young's "Powderfinger," the Rolling Stones' "Child of the Moon," and "Big Day," a Brian Eno song that originally appeared on Phil Manzanera's solo album Diamond Head -- were proudly uncool by 1987 terms, which of course only makes them cooler. Shore Leave was largely ignored at the time, selling fewer than 5,000 copies all told, but it's a minor classic of '80s jangle pop ripe for rediscovery. Although never released on CD at the time (in 1987, a lot of indies were still sticking exclusively to vinyl and cassettes), Shore Leave is one of many classic out of print albums on the Twin/Tone and Coyote labels now available on custom-burned CDs through the Twin/Tone website.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 04/20/2018
Label: Bar/None Records
UPC: 0032862026621
catalogNumber: 266
Rank: 167630


  1. Shore Leave
  2. The Empty Pool
  3. Aspiration
  4. Spinning
  5. Big Day
  6. Eternal Ice
  7. Strange Little Man
  8. Return to Zion
  9. Child of the Moon
  10. Powderfinger
  11. Modern Farmer

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Yung Wu   Primary Artist
John Baumgartner   Keyboards,Group Member
Stanley Demeski   Percussion,Drums,Group Member
Glenn Mercer   Guitar,Background Vocals,Group Member
Bill Million   Guitar,Background Vocals,Group Member
Dave Weckerman   Vocals,Group Member
Brenda Sauter   Bass,Group Member

Technical Credits

Mick Jagger   Composer
Phil Manzanera   Composer
Neil Young   Composer
Brian Eno   Composer
Glenn Mercer   Producer,Jacket Design
Bill Million   Producer
Keith Richards   Composer
Dave Weckerman   Composer,Liner Notes
Jim MacMillian   Engineer
Julie Cheneinski   Reissue Design

Customer Reviews