Si ji (Four Seasons)

Si ji (Four Seasons)

by Xuefei Yang


$15.03 $15.99 Save 6% Current price is $15.03, Original price is $15.99. You Save 6%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, October 22?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Si ji (Four Seasons)

Si Ji (Four Seasons) is Chinese guitarist Xuefei Yang's debut on GSP, and her collection of contemporary guitar miniatures is as gently evocative as the title suggests. While one may understand the need to program mild mood pieces to make an attractive introductory album, it seems Xuefei has overdone it by choosing too much fluff and little music of substance. Notwithstanding some intricate and virtuosic passagework in these short pieces, the music is tame, easily digested, and blandly unadventurous; consequently, it seems too much like innocuous but forgettable background music for daydreaming. Flavored with pentatonic melodies, some of the pieces may bring Chinese folk music to mind, but many more of these tracks sound like Spanish guitar music softened with touches of new age harmonies and pretty harmonics. Little here will surprise the listener (except perhaps the dramatic opening of Stephen Goss' "Farewell, My Concubine") and nothing will offend; but by the same token, nothing on this CD invites repeated listening, either. GSP's sound quality is fabulous, so guitar aficionados may appreciate Xuefei's tone and technique, even if the music she plays is less than remarkable.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/13/2005
Label: Gsp Records
UPC: 0095888102823
catalogNumber: 1028
Rank: 71216


  1. Yi dance
  2. Shepherd Boy with Flute
  3. Intonation & 4 Sound-and-Image Compositions, for guitar
  4. Songs of Oriental Children, for guitar: Heavenly Bird (Fujian)
  5. Songs of Oriental Children, for guitar: Lantern Song (South China)
  6. Mayila, for guitar
  7. Meditations (3) for guitar: No. 2
  8. Meditations (3) for guitar: No. 1
  9. The Blue Kite, for guitar
  10. Yellow Earth, for guitar
  11. Farewell My Concubine, for guitar
  12. I Ching, for guitar: 1. T'ai
  13. I Ching, for guitar: 3. Lin
  14. I Ching, for guitar: 4. T'ung Jen
  15. I Ching, for guitar: 5. Huan
  16. I Ching, for guitar: 6. K'uei
  17. I Ching, for guitar: 7. Chieh
  18. South China Sea Peace, for prepared guitar
  19. Four Seasons, for guitar

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews