Silence Is Easy [Canada Bonus Tracks]

Silence Is Easy [Canada Bonus Tracks]

by Starsailor

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Silence Is Easy [Canada Bonus Tracks]

Starsailor's sophomore effort, Silence Is Easy, was hotly anticipated largely upon the announcement that the melodic and earnest quartet from Chorley, England, would be working with legendary producer Phil Spector. It also didn't hurt that Starsailor's debut release, Love Is Here, was generally received upon its release as one of the best British rock albums of 2002. Built around the songwriting and lead vocals of James Walsh, the band fit nicely alongside similarly minded mellow Brits Doves and Coldplay. Mixing alternative rock aesthetics with a melodic pop sensibility, Silence Is Easy finds the band in pretty much the same place as before with slightly better songwriting, a more mature vocal performance by Walsh, and tastefully grandiose production. It's also clear from the cover art alone -- a pristinely epic photo of the band by water that veritably screams Heaven Up Here -- that Echo & the Bunnymen is, along with Spector, a main influence here. It makes sense: the Bunnymen's use of strings, horns, and chugging beats always seemed like a direct out growth of Spector's Brill Building "Wall of Sound" aesthetic. The bookend-like influence on Starsailor feels serendipitous. Even Walsh's delivery, which bordered on the relentlessly nasal on Love Is Here, here reveals the flush of Ian McCulloch's bluesy baritone. The 11 tracks here, including the two Spector-produced numbers, are heartfelt, melodic rockers with some string backgrounds that fit well into the overall aesthetic of cinematic pop romanticism. [The Canadian bonus tracks version of Silence Is Easy

Product Details

Release Date: 01/13/2004
Label: Emi Import
UPC: 0724359743721
catalogNumber: 597437

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Starsailor   Primary Artist,Group
Gini Ball   Violin
Sally Herbert   Violin
Louis Jardine   Percussion
Calina de la Mare   Violin
Sara Wilson   Cello
Howard Gott   Violin
Rob Spriggs   Viola
Helen Thomas   Cello
Andy Nice   Cello
Anna Giddey   Violin
Clare Raybould   Violin
Louise Peacock   Violin
Catherine Browning   Violin
Ian Burdge   Cello
Ruth Gottlieb   Violin
Brian G. Wright   Violin
James Stelfox   Group Member
Ben Byrne   Group Member
Barry Westhead   Group Member
Tim Myall   Violin
Alison Blunt   Violin
Gillon Cameron   Violin
Wendy DeSaint Paer   Violin
Emily Frith   Viola
Vincent Greene   Viola
Fiona Griffith   Viola
Anna Morris   Violin
Lucy Theo   Viola
Arnulf Lindner   Double Bass
Emily Isaac   Cello
Katherine Watmough   Violin
Sophie Sirota   Viola
James Walsh   Group Member

Technical Credits

Phil Spector   Producer
John Leckie   Producer,Engineer
Danton Supple   Producer,Engineer
John Dunne   Programming
Mark Aubrey   Producer,Engineer
Leo Abrahams   String Arrangements
Starsailor   Composer,Producer
Britt Myers   Engineer
Chris Brown   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews