Silly Lilly and the Four Seasons: Toon Books Level 1

Silly Lilly and the Four Seasons: Toon Books Level 1

by Agnes Rosenstiehl


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 12


Lilly is a spunky little girl who delights in the pleasures of each season, peering inside shells in the summer and tasting different kinds of apples in the fall. A charming, subtle book by one of France’s premier children’s book authors, Lilly learns about the outdoors and introduces the youngest readers to the colors, words, shapes that arise in nature.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781935179238
Publisher: TOON Books
Publication date: 02/12/2013
Series: Toon Series
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 32
Sales rank: 481,198
Product dimensions: 5.80(w) x 8.80(h) x 0.20(d)
Age Range: 4 - 8 Years

About the Author

Agnès Rosenstiehl was born in Paris, France in 1941 into a family of artists. She studied French literature at the Sorbonne and Composition at the Conservatoire National and went on from there to become one of France's most esteemed children's book authors. Among her many works are Mon Larousse, a dictionary for youngest readers; Le Livre de la Langue Francaise (The Book of the French Language), published by Gallimard; and Paris-Pékin par le Transsibérien (Paris-Pekin by the Transiberian), which she illustrated and co-wrote with her husband, a mathematician, after an inspirational family trip. Agnès happens to be an expert on the poems of France's illustrious poet, Arthur Rimbaud, and her work has been published in several professional journals.

Agnès is most well-known for her young heroine Mimi Cracra, who has appeared in over 100 books and pamphlets and has inspired a French television series. Rosenstiehl's books have been translated into eight languages, including Japanese and Chinese. Agnès conceived Mimi Cracra’s English language début, Silly Lilly and the Four Seasons, especially for the TOON Books collection. Silly Lilly in What Will I Be Today? is that title's eagerly-awaited follow-up.

Between Agnès and her husband, they have seven children and fifteen grandchildren. They live in a country house with a garden, hidden in the center of Paris.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Silly Lilly and the Four Seasons: Toon Books Level 1 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
shomskie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Silly Lilly and The Four Seasons was a book that provided a connection between words and images. The words just so happened to be the four seasons: Spring, Summer, Fall, and Winter! Lilly described what she liked to do in each season and even dressed the part. It was cute and informational at the same time.
beckystandal on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Ages 1-4. 'Silly Lilly and the Four Seasons' is a graphic novel written for beginning readers. Each page contains only one or two panels, with word bubbles containing one sentence. The book follows Lilly through each season, beginning and ending with spring, doing some season-specific activity such as apple-picking in the fall. This picture book is a nice introduction to the comic/graphic novel genre. Recommended for beginning reader collections.
elenaazad on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"Silly Lilly and the Four Seasons" by Agnes Rosenstiehl is the English translation of a popular French easy-reader. Available online as a Toon Book, children can get help with reading by opting to have the book read aloud to them and can "flip" through the pages at their own pace. Moreover, it's available in a couple different languages, including the original French, making it a great tool for ESL students and children learning a foreign language. Lilly is a quirky little girl who has fun playing outdoors no matter what season it is. This story follows Lilly as she goes through a whole year of seasons, each involving its own special activity. Lilly's companion is her Teddy Bear and, although he isn't the most active character, he facial expression lets readers in on what he's thinking at any given moment. (When Lilly pelts him with snowballs in the winter story, he is not amused.) The stories are simple, fun and easy to follow, and the illustrations have little subtle details that will capture readers attention. The book is divided into little stories, one for each season, which might be an ideal format for the child who has trouble focusing. However, each story ends a little too abruptly, as does the book itself, and this throws off the pacing.
ElizaJane on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This time around I'm reviewing the first three books published in this series of graphic novels for emergent readers. The struggling reader (8yo) enjoyed the others so much we went out and bought the first three. So he has now read the entire line of Toon Books and anxiously awaits the publication of the next set.They are around 30-odd pages each and first published April 2008.This is the easiest of the first three books. Simple words, large letters and divided into five parts as Lilly enjoys each season of the year, starting and ending with Spring. My struggling reader had no problems reading this book at all. The illustrations are really cute too!Highly recommend any one of the 8 books in this series published so far.
marvelousleah on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This picture book has many qualities of a graphic novel, such as action boxes and speech bubbles, but the format is simple enough to be followed by very young readers. Silly Lilly goes through all the seasons talking about her favorite things to do during each one. The illustrations are simple and feature the primary colors in a vintage style; they are eye-cathcing and quite beautiful. Great book for children learning about the four seasons, especially because there is an online "Read to Me" option so kids can try it on their own.