Silver in the Blood

Silver in the Blood

by Jessica Day George

Hardcover

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 20

Overview

Two girls struggle with their dark family heritage in this fantasy perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Kendare Blake.

As debutantes in 1890s New York City, cousins Dacia and Lou knew little about their mysterious Romanian relatives, the Florescus. Now, upon turning seventeen, the girls must journey to Romania—a journey that seems to be both reward and punishment—to meet their cousins and their tyrant of a grandmother and to learn the secrets of their family. Secrets spoken of in whispers. Dangerous secrets known as the Claw, the Wing, and the Smoke.

But as dangerous as those family secrets might be, even more dangerous is the centuries-old bond between the Florescus and the royal Dracula family, and it seems that it’s time for Dacia and Lou to give up their life in New York society and take their place among the servants of the Draculas. When the devilish heir, Mihai Dracula, sets his sights on Dacia as part of his evil, power-hungry plan, the girls must accept or fight against this cruel inheritance. Do they have the courage to break the shackles of their upbringing and set the course of their own destiny?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781619634312
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Publication date: 07/07/2015
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 811,437
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.10(d)
Lexile: 870L (what's this?)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

Jessica Day George is the author of the New York Times bestseller Wednesdays in the Tower and the rest of the Castle Glower series, as well as the Twelve Dancing Princesses series and Dragon Slippers series. Originally from Idaho, she studied at Brigham Young University and has been a movie store clerk, a bookseller, and a school office lady before becoming a writer. Jessica lives in Salt Lake City, Utah, with her husband, their three young children.

www.jessicadaygeorge.com

@JessDayGeorge

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Silver in the Blood 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Poorly written. I bought it for my 6th grader and luckily I read it first. There was some language which was surprising for this author. Wish I would've know that before I bought the book. :(
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Alyssa75 More than 1 year ago
***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Silver in the Blood by Jessica Day George Book One of the Silver in the Blood series Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens Publication Date: July 7, 2015 Rating: 4 stars Source: ARC sent by the publisher Summary (from Goodreads): A New York Times bestselling author brings dark secrets to life in a lush new YA perfect for fans of Libba Bray or Cassandra Clare. Society girls from New York City circa 1890, Dacia and Lou never desired to know more about their lineage, instead preferring to gossip about the mysterious Romanian family that they barely knew. But upon turning seventeen, the girls must return to their homeland to meet their relatives, find proper husbands, and—most terrifyingly—learn the deep family secrets of The Claw, The Wing, and The Smoke. The Florescus, after all, are shape-shifters, and it is time for Dacia and Lou to fulfill the prophecy that demands their acceptance of this fate . . . or fight against this cruel inheritance with all their might. With a gorgeous Romanian setting, stunning Parisian gowns, and dark brooding young men, readers will be swept up by this epic adventure of two girls in a battle for their lives. What I Liked: This book was quite different from what I was expecting! To be honest, I wasn't really sure what I was expecting, but I got something completely different, and I really liked it! This book has a younger YA feel to it - NOT Middle Grade, but definitely on the lower end of YA. The protagonists are seventeen, but the tone of the book is light and humorous, giving the book a younger feel. Not to say that the protagonists act immaturely! But I want to dispel the idea that this book is Middle Grade! It is indeed YA! Dacia and Lou are set to visit their family in Romania. The cousins were born in America, their mothers not returning to Romania until now. Lou's father and two brothers accompany Lou and her mother, while Dacia and Aunt Kate (the third sister) travel as well. There is something sinister about the Florescu family - and Dacia and Lou are trapped in Romania by their own family. They find out that their family members are shape-shifters. The Florescus are an old family that protects another old family - the Draculas. Prince Mihai (a Dracula) has an odd interest in Dacia, and Lou and Dacia must figure out how they can escape their family, and save themselves. This book is written in third person, dual perspective! Lou and Dacia are cousins, two very close cousins. I liked both of them. Lou is quiet and obedient, well-mannered, the peacekeeper. Dacia is a bit wild and reckless, and she thinks she is being sent to Romania with Aunt Kate as a punishment for an Incident in London with Lord Johnny (a young man a few years older than her). I liked Lou more than Dacia, but I liked them both (which is surprising for me - usually I dislike one heavily and like the other a lot). This relationship between the cousins reminds me of the relationship between the sisters in Sea of Shadows by Kelley Armstrong! I liked the structure of this book. We get the story, but there are also letters before every chapter. The letters are written by a number of characters, but mostly Dacia and Lou. They were interesting, and definitely lent themselves well to the plot. See the rest of my review on The Eater of Books! blog - eaterofbooks dot blogspot dot com!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think I've read all of Jessica Day George's books at this point — this one may be my favorite. So much fun to read.