Simple Gifts

Simple Gifts

by Bryn TerfelBryn Terfel


$14.82 $16.99 Save 13% Current price is $14.82, Original price is $16.99. You Save 13%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, February 28
4 New & Used Starting at $10.94


By alternating between solid classical releases (like the recent recital of English song, Silent Noon) and fun-filled crossover discs ranging from Broadway hits to Welsh folksongs, Bryn Terfel manages to keep both sides of his fan base equally satisfied. Simple Gifts, however, should bridge the gap between them, weaving together sacred classics and traditional songs of inspiration into a satisfying whole. Terfel's warm bass-baritone voice is a natural fit for this kind of music, its sonorous strength conveying rock-solid faith, whether the material is Mozart's "Ave verum corpus" or a standard hymn like "Amazing Grace." Some of the disc's finest moments are those where a second great baritone, Simon Keenlyside, joins in for Pergolesi's "Stabat mater dolorosa" and Karl Jenkins's setting of the "Ave verum corpus," composed especially for Terfel; other guests include guitarist John Williams on Stanley Myers's intimate "She Was Beautiful." The latter song -- along with an 11th-hour digression into Broadway territory for Sondheim's "Send In the Clowns" -- might seem out of place on a spiritual album, yet they both express a kind of soul searching that fits the program perfectly, and Terfel singing Sondheim is naturally a complete delight. All in all, Simple Gifts is a deeply stirring album, thanks in part to Chris Hazell's tasteful orchestrations and the wonderful choral performances of the London Voices, but mostly for the direct emotional appeal of Terfel's singing -- an artistic gift that's anything but simple.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/11/2005
Label: Deutsche Grammophon
UPC: 0028947755630
catalogNumber: 000477202
Rank: 108482


  1. Ave verum Corpus, motet for chorus, strings & organ, K. 618
  2. Deep River
  3. The Lord Bless You and Keep You, for chorus & orchestra
  4. I'll Walk Beside You
  5. Stabat mater, for soprano, alto, strings & organ in F major
  6. Still, Still, Still (Stille, stille, stille) (German)
  7. Simple Gifts
  8. How Great Thou Art (Tune: O store Gud)
  9. Panis angelicus for tenor, organ, harp, cello & bass
  10. Bless This House, for chorus & keyboard
  11. Ave Verum Corpus
  12. The Deer Hunter, film score: She Was Beautiful (Cavatina)
  13. The Rose
  14. Amazing Grace (Tune: New Britain)
  15. Tosturi Duw (God's Mercy), song for voice & organ
  16. Morning Has Broken (Tune: Bunessan)
  17. Nearer My God to Thee, for voice & piano (or orchestra)
  18. Ave Maria, for voice & piano (after Bach's Prelude No. 1 from the Well-Tempered Clavier, Book 1)
  19. Send in the Clowns (from the musical "A Little Night Music")
  20. God Be With You Till We Meet Again

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Simple Gifts 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have given "Simple Gifts" to many people. To the last one, they have called to thank me profusely, remarking about placing it in their cars so they can listen to it whenever traveling around town. Bryn Terfel brings such beauty and tenderness to his music, I am frequently moved to tears with certain selections no matter how many times I hear them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This man can sing anything! He has taught me so many beautiful songs. I keep one copy in my car and one at my office. Hope to collect every CD he has recorded