Simply Jesus: A New Vision of Who He Was, What He Did, and Why He Matters

Simply Jesus: A New Vision of Who He Was, What He Did, and Why He Matters

by N. T. Wright
3.7 13
ISBN-10:
0062084399
ISBN-13:
9780062084392
Pub. Date:
10/25/2011
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Select a Purchase Option
  • purchase options
    $5.47 $24.99 Save 78%
    • Free return shipping at the end of the rental period details
    • Textbook Rentals in 3 Easy Steps  details
    icon-error
    Note: Access code and/or supplemental material are not guaranteed to be included with textbook rental or used textbook.
  • purchase options
    $13.69 $24.99 Save 45% Current price is $13.69, Original price is $24.99. You Save 45%.
  • purchase options
    $11.98 $24.99 Save 52% Current price is $11.98, Original price is $24.99. You Save 52%.
    icon-error
    Note: Access code and/or supplemental material are not guaranteed to be included with textbook rental or used textbook.
  • purchase options

Overview

Simply Jesus: A New Vision of Who He Was, What He Did, and Why He Matters

“The world’s leading New Testament scholar.” —Newsweek

In the tradition of C. S. Lewis’s Mere Christianity and his own classic book Simply Christian, N. T. Wright invokes 200 years of Biblical scholarship to show us how we should best retell the story of Jesus today. For believers confronting the challenge of connecting with their faith today, and for readers of Timothy Keller’s The Reason for God, Wright offers a provocative new picture of how to understand who Jesus was and how we should relate to him today.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062084392
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 10/25/2011
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 145,201
Product dimensions: 9.26(w) x 6.34(h) x 0.91(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Simply Jesus 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was very obviously well-researched. The problem with it was that it didn't always make sense to me. I think that may have been due to my lacking intellect, having been nurtured most recently by touchy-feely Christian books rather than those with an academic spin. Yes, I was confused a bit, but I would still recommend this book to those who are more intellectual than I and who have a fuller appreciation of Biblical-era history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book.
FrancescaFB More than 1 year ago
Over two thousand years ago a series of events took place that radically changed the hearts and minds of many people. This change of heart occurred in people who met and believed in a man named Jesus, the greatest teacher the world has ever known. Part of the Christian message is that what happened with Jesus, through Jesus, happened once and only once, and will never again be a repeated part of history. According to ancient scripture, Israel’s God promised to return to His people in power and glory and to establish His kingdom on earth as it is in heaven, and He did so in Jesus Christ, the true Temple, the first Church. God is in charge, He is running the world, whether or not we see it or not, through human beings, through His followers, and through the good works they perform. N.T. Wright states in SIMLPY JESUS that what the Church and we as Jesus’ followers do through our good works is rooted in the achievements of Jesus, and it looks ahead to the final completion of His work through us, His creation, and through any Christian church that exists throughout the world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
doc77 More than 1 year ago
I originally purchased this for my NOOK. I love N.T. Wright and enjoy my Nook, but they were not that compatible The NOOK would not save the page of my last reading, so I had to remember where I left off. I have not had that problem with other products and do not understand why it happened. In order to save my place where I was reading, I purchased a hard copy. I don't know what the problem was, but, like I said, I am enjoying the book and enjoy my NOOK also.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of very few, If not only book, I have read twice , back to back. Immerses the reader into the context of how the world around Jesus thought of him, how he thought of himself, and why it al matters today. Are christians here only to "win one more soul" (as important as that is), or is there more? YES THERE IS!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The gospels are more understandable than this book.