Sin Salsa No Hay Paraiso

Sin Salsa No Hay Paraiso

by El Gran Combo de Puerto Rico
5.0 1


Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, August 24 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Sin Salsa No Hay Paraiso

A half-century into their recording career, El Gran Combo de Puerto Rico are still one of the leading salsa acts in Latin music, which is all the more remarkable when you consider that founder and bandleader Rafael Ithier was well into his eighties when he and his orchestra released Sin Salsa No Hay Paraíso. The third full-length studio album released since Gran Combo de Puerto Rico left Combo Records at the turn of the century, after a quarter-century of releasing a new studio album more or less every year on the label, Sin Salsa No Hay Paraíso is no less exciting than its predecessors, Aquí Estamos y...¡de Verdad! (2004) and Arroz con Habichuela (2006), the latter of which won the group a Latin Grammy award for Best Tropical Album. The title track of Sin Salsa No Hay Paraíso storms out of the gate as the album opener. One of El Gran Combo's best singles in recent years, "Sin Salsa No Hay Paraíso" is straight fire and sets the album aflame from the get-go. While none of the subsequent tracks on the ten-track album measure up to the stand-out title track, there are plenty of highlights, among them a new version of "Achilipú," which was originally released on the classic album De Punta a Punta (1971), and "Colombia Tierra Querida." Fans of El Gran Combo know what to expect on Sin Salsa No Hay Paraíso, as this group is nothing if not consistent, and the album doesn't disappoint, the title track in particular.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/30/2010
Label: Sony U.S. Latin
UPC: 0886976075828
catalogNumber: 760758
Rank: 12212

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Gran Combo de Puerto Rico   Primary Artist
Miguel Torres   Conga
Papo Rosario   Coros
Charlie Aponte   Coros
Jerry Rivas   Coros
Willie Sotelo   Piano
Betzaida Bosch   Arreglos
Domingo "Cuqui" Santos   Timbales
Yarishna Ayala   Modelo
Karishna Ayala   Modelo

Technical Credits

Ricky Martinez   Composer,Lyricist
Willie Sotelo   Composer,Lyricist
Andrés Jiménez   Composer,Lyricist
Juan Jose Hernandez-Doejo   Composer,Lyricist
Rafael Monclova   Composer,Lyricist
Francisco Alvarado Morales   Composer,Lyricist
Felipe Campuzano Lopez   Composer,Lyricist
Luis Eduardo Bermudez Acosta   Composer,Lyricist
Joaquin Alfonso Navas   Composer,Lyricist
José Castellón Batista   Composer,Lyricist
Hiram Guadalupe Pérez   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sin Salsa No Hay Paraiso 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago