Sinfonietta: For Fourteen Players or Chamber Orchestra

Sinfonietta: For Fourteen Players or Chamber Orchestra




This Sinfionetta contains the basic ingredients of a Symphony, viz. and Allegro, a Scherzo, a slow movement and a final Allegro. These elements are compressed into a one-movement form and the final Allegro is a recapitulation of the first, albeit with considerable variation. There is also a short fugue, for strings alone, between the opening Allegro and the Scherzo, which consolidates the musical ideas used throughout the piece.

This work may be played by a chamber ensemble with a string nonet, for which it was originally written, or with a full orchestral string section.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780571520848
Publisher: Faber and Faber
Publication date: 08/01/2003
Series: Faber Edition Series
Pages: 100
Product dimensions: 8.10(w) x 11.60(h) x 0.30(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews