Singapore Chess: A History, 1945-1990

Singapore Chess: A History, 1945-1990

by Shashi Jayakumar, Olimpiu G Urcan


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, October 23  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Singapore Chess: A History, 1945-1990 by Shashi Jayakumar, Olimpiu G Urcan

This book is the definitive volume on the history of chess in Singapore. Covering 1945-1990, it covers the post-war emergence of a truly 'local' chess scene out of the colonial period, then taking the story up to the modern era. Contained within these pages are tributes to the modern founding fathers of Singapore chess. Also chronicled within are the careers of Singapore's top players and their achievements. This includes fine team performances (belying Singapore's seeming status in the chess world as a tiny red dot) and spectacular individual successes on the international stage.In documenting chess development in Singapore for the period in question, this book also provides glimpses of a wider social history. Personal stories (based on fresh interviews) are provided that give a sense of the chessplaying milieu of the time. Stalwarts in the chess scene, featured in this book, went on to be notable figures in the wider social and political landscape.A selection of 139 annotated games played by top Singapore-based players and Singapore masters between 1949 and 1990 is matched by a rich collection of more than 200 rare illustrations. This volume is a wonderful resource for chess aficionados, interested amateurs, collectors and historians.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9789814733229
Publisher: World Scientific Publishing Company, Incorporated
Publication date: 08/02/2017
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 404
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 1.25(h) x 9.00(d)

Table of Contents

Preface vii

Acknowledgments xi

Notes on Games, Annotations and Sources xiii

Abbreviations and Annotations Symbols xv

Chapter 1 Rebirth, 1945-1955 1

Chapter 2 Changes, 1956-1967 41

Chapter 3 Chess is on the March, 1968-1970 97

Chapter 4 Further Growth, 1971-1973 157

Chapter 5 Young Blood, 1974-1978 207

Chapter 6 A New Era, 1979-1982 253

Chapter 7 Rejuvenation, 1983-1986 277

Chapter 8 Rising Youth, 1987-1990 317

Afterword 359

Appendices 361

Sources 371

Index of Openings 373

Index of Players 375

General Index 377

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews