Singing Out Loud: A Memoir of an Ex-Mardi Gras Queen

Singing Out Loud: A Memoir of an Ex-Mardi Gras Queen

by Marilee Eaves
Singing Out Loud: A Memoir of an Ex-Mardi Gras Queen

Singing Out Loud: A Memoir of an Ex-Mardi Gras Queen

by Marilee Eaves


$8.99 $9.95 Save 10% Current price is $8.99, Original price is $9.95. You Save 10%.

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


Born during World War II, Marilee Eaves has long struggled to fit into the New Orleans elite—secret Mardi Gras societies that ruled the city—into which she was born. Then, as a student at Wellesley, she’s hospitalized at McLean psychiatric hospital, where she begins to realize how much of herself she’s sacrificed to blend into and be fully accepted by the exclusive and exclusionary white Uptown New Orleans culture to which she supposedly belongs.

In Singing Out Loud, Eaves tells of her journey to stand on her own two feet—to find a way to be grounded and evolved in the midst of that culture. Along the way, she wrestles with bipolar disorder, alcoholism, and the effects of her bad (heartbreaking, and sometimes hilarious) choices. Raw and funny, this book offers hope and encouragement to those willing to be vulnerable, address their issues, and laugh at themself in order to embrace who they truly are.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781631526671
Publisher: She Writes Press
Publication date: 11/19/2019
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: eBook
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Marilee Eaves grew up in the elite world of Uptown New Orleans, a world of Mardi Gras parades and exclusive balls. She spent nearly five decades of her life struggling to be herself in the midst of the elitist Mardi Gras societies that ruled her home city. Finally, in her fifties and sixties, she expanded her perspective, started questioning assumptions about the way she’d grown up, and carved her own path. Eaves has published articles in New Orleans Museum of Art’s Arts Quarterly, Episcopal Diocese of Louisiana’s Churchwork, Madrona News, Touch Magazine, and The Awakenings Review.

Table of Contents

Preface 1

1 The Summons 3

2 Dex Diaries 12

3 Cold Turkey 28

4 The Break 36

5 Royal Whirlwind 42

6 Queen Of The Ball 54

7 My Baron 66

8 The Fall 81

9 Season of Discontent, or Her-Story 88

10 Queen of the Night 101

11 Two Priests 109

12 Goodbye to Alcohol, Junior League, and Noblesse Oblige 119

13 The White Handkerchief 129

14 Debuts in Other Keys 135

15 The Boxer 146

16 Ruth 156

17 The Suit 166

18 Exile 176

19 Changing of the Guard 183

20 Hands On, Hands Off 192

21 Go Now 199

22 Disaster Zone 207

23 Fortune Teller 214

24 Singing Out Loud 219

Epilogue 231

Acknowledgments 235

About the Author 241

Customer Reviews