Buy One, Get One 50% Off Our Monthly Picks!
Shop Now
Sings Cole Porter [Bonus Tracks]

Sings Cole Porter [Bonus Tracks]

by Mabel Mercer Mabel Mercer


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 26


A match made in heaven -- Mabel Mercer was born to sing the work of Cole Porter. Both vocalist and composer were the ultimate in stylized sophistication, their knowing cleverness draped in warmth and wit. On this gem of a recording, Mercer wraps her perfect diction around such Porter masterpieces as "So In Love," "Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye," "Just One of Those Things," "It's All Right with Me," and "Down in the Depths" as well as the lesser-known jewels "Experiment," "Where, Oh Where?" and "When Love Comes Your Way." The tasteful arrangements usually feature Mercer with just piano and bass, all the accompaniment this peerless singer needed. Note also that this recording was produced by Ahmet and Nesuhi Ertegun and engineered by Tom Dowd, three of the masterminds behind Atlantic Records' great R&B sides of the 1950s and '60s. -- men who obviously appreciated great music when they heard it.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/21/1994
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227169022
catalogNumber: 71690
Rank: 133743


  1. It's De-Lovely
  2. Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye
  3. Experiment
  4. Ours
  5. After You
  6. Where, Oh Where?
  7. It's All Right with Me
  8. So in Love
  9. Looking at You
  10. When Love Comes Your Way
  11. I Am Ashamed That Women Are So Simple
  12. Use Your Imagination
  13. Ace in the Hole
  14. Just One of Those Things
  15. From This Moment On
  16. All of You
  17. Down in the Depths

Album Credits

Customer Reviews