Sinsemilla [Bonus Tracks]

Sinsemilla [Bonus Tracks]

by Black Uhuru

CD(Bonus Tracks)

$9.24 $10.99 Save 16% Current price is $9.24, Original price is $10.99. You Save 16%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, October 20 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Sinsemilla [Bonus Tracks]

Released on the Island Records subsidiary Mango in July 1980, Sinsemilla, named after a type of marijuana, was Black Uhuru's first album to be issued internationally, its third overall. Although the group was nominally a trio at this point -- consisting of Derrick "Duckie" Simpson, Michael Rose, and Sandra "Puma" Jones -- in effect, Sinsemilla was a solo album by Rose, who wrote all the songs and sang lead vocals. In David Katz's liner notes for this reissue, Rose is even quoted as saying that Jones doesn't sing on the disc. In addition to his writing and singing duties, Rose can be credited for bringing in the production team and rhythm section of Sly Dunbar and Robbie Shakespeare, whose Taxi Gang provides the distinctive musical tracks. Rose's lyrical vision is revolutionary and radical, extolling the primacy of Africa, opposing Apartheid, and praising the virtues of marijuana. But his sweet tenor and Simpson's harmonies soothe the message, and the music has a spare, rhythmic appeal that is distinctive and forward-looking, suggesting a hard, stripped-down direction for reggae. Sinsemilla is the sound of performers just finding their voices, and it excited hopes for the development of Jamaican music as Bob Marley's leadership was about to falter due to illness. The 2003 reissue contains both sides of Black Uhuru's August 1980 12" single, "Sinsemilla (Discomix)," which extends the title track to six and a half minutes, and "Guess Who's Coming to Dinner (Discomix)," an extended version of an earlier Jamaican hit.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/29/2003
Label: Island
UPC: 0044006362823
catalogNumber: 000076502
Rank: 40941

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Black Uhuru   Primary Artist
Ansel Collins   Organ,Piano
Jimmy Becker   Harmonica
Sly Dunbar   Percussion,Drums,Voices
Puma Jones   Group Member
Michael Rose   Group Member
Robbie Shakespeare   Bass
Derrick Simpson   Group Member
Uziah "Sticky" Thompson   Percussion
Rad Bryan   Guitar
Bertram "Ranchie" McLean   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar

Technical Credits

Bunny Tom Tom   Remixing
David Katz   Liner Notes
Sly Dunbar   Producer,Executive Producer
Ernest Hoo Kim   Engineer
Robbie Shakespeare   Composer,Producer,Executive Producer
Vartan   Art Direction
Tony Wright   Artwork
M. Rose   Composer
Robin Schwartz   Licensing
Jane Hitchin   Tape Research
David Lascelles   Tape Research
Zoe Roberts   Tape Research
"Colonel" Maxie   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews