Sir Laurence Dies

Sir Laurence Dies

by Christopher D. Abbott

Paperback

$11.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, September 28  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Overview

Sir Laurence Dies by Christopher D. Abbott

Sir Laurence Dies is a murder mystery in the Agatha Christie style. It's a "whodunit"! A story of intrigue, guile and red herrings, half a dozen suspects, and a murder to boot.

Just what is the morose butler, Dawson, hiding behind that stone faced reserve? Why does Lady Agatha Smythe carry around an old photograph of her younger days, and what exactly is her relationship to Major John Heskith? Is Milly Gregson the meek girl she seems to be, and is Desmond DuPont's interest in her more than simply platonic? Is the debonair Doctor Jacob Powell the lady's man that local gossip suggests?

It was never going to be an easy task to put this puzzle together when they don't have all the pieces, or any idea what the picture might be. However that's exactly what Doctor Straay and Chief Inspector Drake must do, if they intend to find the murderer of Sir Laurence Gregson; but can they work together to solve this murder, or will their antithetical differences on psychology and police work stop them before they even start...?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781492119593
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 08/20/2013
Pages: 260
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.59(d)

About the Author

Christopher D. Abbott is the award winning author of Sir Laurence Dies, Dr Chandrix Dies, and co-author of Revolting Tales (with Todd A Curry). He has a background in human behavioural studies and psychology. Having worked in IT, communications, safety and health, and sales, he gained a good understanding of people and their behaviours. Abbott is a self confessed avid reader of crime fiction, and he took creative writing courses, which fuelled his ambition to publish a character driven crime story. He loves quirky characters such as Rodney David Wingfield's Inspector "Jack" Frost, Agatha Christie's Poirot, and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes. The Idea of Dr Pieter Straay, his Dutch Criminal Psychologist, came about by integrating the qualities he admires best in these characters.

Sir Laurence Dies, the 1st book in The "Dies" Trilogy, debuted in 2013, and since then it received a 5 star review from Reader's Favorite. It made the final of Reader's Favorite 2014 book awards for the Mystery - Sleuth category.

Abbott currently live in Connecticut USA. He loves to write and play music, which is another of his passions. He enjoys cooking, hiking, reading in the sun, and is currently at school studying for a degree in psychology. He is also working on his 3rd Dr Straay novel

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sir Laurence Dies 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
JuneHyjek More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this classic "whodunit" mystery! Right from the beginning, I felt like I was in the middle of a game of "Clue," where everyone is a suspect and capable of murder. Even though I suspected part of the answer, I still didn't know who killed Sir Laurence, and I never expected the final twist! Well-written with good character depth and lots of plot twists and turns, this book kept me guessing until the very end! Looking forward to reading "Dr. Chandrix Dies!"
DingerCT More than 1 year ago
A very well written murder mystery in the style of Agatha Christie! Reader's will not be disappointed. This book just won the Readers' Favorite Bronze International Book Award 2014    Well done! Dinger
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A well written, fast paced mystery set in the English Countryside, with a fascinating set of characters keeps the reader wondering. As the story develops, there are many twists and turns that keep the reader guessing right to the very surprising end. A delightful fast paced read. This reader is looking forward to Abbotts next book.
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Jack Magnus for Readers' Favorite Sir Lawrence Dies is a detective mystery, written by Christopher D. Abbott, featuring Dutch psychologist, Dr. Pieter Straay, who has a keen interest in crime. He's on his way to England from Amsterdam when he's approached by Sir Lawrence Gregson, a retired Lieutenant Colonel. Sir Lawrence is a severely disfigured survivor of World War I. He invites Straay to come stay at his estate after confiding that he fears someone is trying to kill him. Sir Lawrence recounts a near hunting accident and a later boating accident that, combined with some ominous whispering he overheard, have made him feel sure that his life is in danger. Straay accepts his offer and arranges to come for dinner at the estate. The trains are late, however, and Straay misses the dinner, but is able to observe the inhabitants of the house that evening.  Christopher D. Abbott's detective story is a first-rate murder mystery with an engaging Dutch psychologist-sleuth. The reader gets to follow as Dr. Straay and his friend Chief Inspector Drake interview Sir Lawrence's family, friends, and staff after his apparent suicide on the night of Straay's arrival. This is a stylish and enjoyable mystery that keeps the reader guessing as Straay and Drake consider clues, motives, and inconsistencies. Fans of Christie and Holmes alike should enjoy Sir Lawrence Dies as well as anyone who likes police procedurals. I was caught up in the plot from the very first pages and found it to be quite entertaining and not at all predictable.