Sister Katie

Sister Katie

by Doris Hunt-Jorden

Paperback

$17.51 $19.45 Save 10% Current price is $17.51, Original price is $19.45. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, September 24 , Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781418440152
Publisher: Authorhouse
Publication date: 05/21/2004
Pages: 294
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.66(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sister Katie 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sister Katie is the kind of book you can't put down and yet don't want to end. This stunning and remarkable novel tells the story of a courageous African American woman, Sister Katie, and her teenage daughter, Margaret, struggling to survive in a segregated small town in Missouri in the 1930s. Margaret has been given an inheritance to further her education because of her mother's spiritual assistance to the ailing and most powerful white man in the county. When the man dies, his son, J.T., plots to take back Margaret's inheritance. What ensues is an unforgettable battle between J.T. and Katie that makes her one of the most memorable heroines in American literature. The author, Doris Hunt-Jorden, reveals the complexities of segregated life: relationships formed in childhood that segregation forces apart during adolescence and adulthood, and greed and cruelty that stem from unchecked power and unfounded beliefs in racial superiority. Hunt-Jorden understands how the force of racism tries to destroy the beauty of a mother-daughter relationship and to undermine the importance of place and roots in African American life. This novel is so well crafted and so powerful a story, I have assigned it to my graduate and undergraduate fiction writing students as a model of excellent writing and storytelling. Following in the tradition of William Faulkner and Zora Neale Hurston, Hunt-Jorden's language is replete with vivid imagery and dialogue that is as honest as it is poetic, drawing upon the oral traditions and folk expressions of both the African American and white communities in 1938 Missouri. As a member of the American Association of University Women, I was delighted when their book club followed my suggestion to select Sister Katie for their March 27, 2006 read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found Sister Katie to be a novel whose characters and story haunt your mind long after you close the book. Doris Hunt-Jorden brings to life with breathtaking vividness the violent struggle that erupts in the white and black communities of the small town of Bennettsville, Missouri in the 1930s over money left by a white man to Sister Katie¿s daughter Margaret for her education. Sister Katie is a chilling page-turner grounded in black and white history. Through Hunt-Jorden¿s masterful writing we see, breathe, smell and experience as if we were in the story each moment ourselves. The human capacities for evil and for heroism ring with truth in Sister Katie, truth we need to contemplate for our own times. But Sister Katie also brings an unexpected and fabulous literary reward I have not seen anywhere since Zora Neale Hurston: the combining of the voice of a contemporarily-educated black storyteller with the characters¿ authentic black southern speech circa the 1930s. Don¿t miss owning this remarkable novel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
From the very beginning, I was drawn into this intense tale of the trials of an African American family in the South during the early years of the last century. The author skillfully develops several subplots in this emotional tale, effectively recreating the feeling of the period. I could not put this book down. I highly recommend it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a must read. Anyone who has never experienced the racism that existed in the South, will walk away from this book with a new perspective on what is what like to be black and live in the South!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book had the passion that could be felt deep in your soul. If you could associate yourself with the way that Blacks were treated in the South, you know what I mean. The writing put you in the character's position. You felt it! The awesome discriptions in the scenrio placed you there. Sister Katie should be adopted into a screenplay that would make a outstanding movie or theater performance. It also is a good source for the U.S. History and Afro American History classes that would deplict the time era. A must read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Anyone that has lived in or visited the south can relate to this story of a small southern town's racial tension and the love of a mother for her daughter. The mother's attempts to protect the child from the types of issues that she herself endured while trying to get the daughter to understand and realize the reality of the situation and the times as they are (were). Very interesting reading.