Ska Island

Ska Island


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Ska Island

Island Records celebrated its 40th anniversary in style with a number of label compilations, but this CD was of special interest, as it features all new recordings from veteran Jamaican heroes and Third Wave movers and shakers. The most surprising entry comes from the biggest star of them all, Prince Buster, who offers up not of his own multitude of hits, but one of Jimmy Cliff's: "King of Kings." The song was written about the battles between Coxsonne Dodd and Duke Reid, but there's no doubt who the real king is. The prince is accompanied by the Skatalites, who also back the wonderful Doreen Shaffer and offer up one of their own instrumentals. The Skatalites were a major influence on the U.S. scene, particularly among such hybrid groups as Fishbone and Jump With Joey. Both are showcased here, with the latter joined by Jamaica's guitar legend Ernest Ranglin. In the U.K., the arrival of Rico Rodriguez helped kickstart the British ska scene back in the early '60s and he has remained an integral player ever since. Here he's joined by Freetown, a British Third Wave band. The group also backs the great Laurel Aitken, another early emigrant to England and a vocalist second to none. Of course ska's influence didn't end at Britain's shores, but spread around the world, and the album features fine cuts from both modern German and Japanese bands. A pair of American trad bands who were heavily influenced by rocksteady also take a walk on ska's wild side with much success. Intriguingly, the Trojans see the set out with a cover of the Spenser Davis Group's "Keep on Running." Ironically enough, it was that single's success that heralded Island's shift out of Jamaican music and into homegrown rock. It was splendid while it lasted, though.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/16/1997
Label: Polygram Records
UPC: 0731452439222
catalogNumber: 524392

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Skatalites   Track Performer
Fishbone   Track Performer
Ray Thomas   Guitar
Toasters   Track Performer
Chunk   Trombone,Background Vocals
Roland Alphonso   Tenor Saxophone
Doreen Shaffer   Trumpet,Track Performer
Laurel Aitken   Vocals,Track Performer
Hepcat   Track Performer
Jim Akimoto   Tenor Saxophone
Joey Altruda   Background Vocals,Double Bass
Deston Berry   Piano,Vocals
Mike Boito   Piano
Nathan Breedlove   Trumpet
Lloyd Brevett   Double Bass
Jah Bunny   Drums
Prince Buster   Vocals,Animal Sounds
Elliot Caine   Trumpet
Dani   Vocals
Alex Desert   Vocals
DJ Fuze   Background Vocals
Steve Harris   Rhythm Guitar
Devon James   Guitar
Spider Johnson   Keyboards
Lloyd Knibbs   Drums
Matt Malles   Bass
Willie McNeil   Drums
Angelo Moore   Baritone Saxophone,Theremin,Vocals
Greg Narvas   Drums
David Ralicke   Trombone,Baritone Saxophone
Ernest Ranglin   Guitar,Track Performer
Lester Sterling   Alto Saxophone
Trojans   Track Performer
Norwood Fisher   Bass
David Waldo   Hammond Organ
Rudy Jones   Tenor Saxophone
John McCain   Vocals
Rob "Bucket" Hingley   Guitar,Background Vocals
Walter Adam Kibby   Trumpet,Vocals
Ring-Ding & the Senior Allstars   Track Performer
Ocean Eleven   Track Performer
Jump with Joey   Track Performer
Rico Rodriguez   Trombone
Efren Santana   Tenor Saxophone
Kincaid Smith   Trumpet
Freddie Flint   Rhythm Guitar
Gaz Mayall   Percussion,Background Vocals
Raul Talavera   Alto Saxophone
Byron West   Guitar
Lino Trujillo   Guitar
Anthony Brewster   Hammond Organ
Joshua Levy   Piano
Gregory Lee   Vocals
Jack Ruby   Rap
Dave Fuentes   Bass
Brian Sledge   Trumpet,Background Vocals
Prince Buster All-Stars   Track Performer
Determinations   Track Performer
Ska Flames   Track Performer
Sista Acko   Vocals
Shinichi Adachi   Trombone
Thomas Hoppe   Drums
Oliver Wierand   Tenor Saxophone,Background Vocals
Takoko Yossy   Piano
Mark Hamilton   Drums,Background Vocals
David Derusha   Tenor Saxophone
Oliver Charles   Drums
Markus Dassmann   Guitar,Background Vocals
Yuji Fukunaga   Tenor Saxophone
Richie Senior   Trombone,Vocals
Daisuke Ichihara   Trumpet
Hitoshi Matsui   Guitar
Daisuke Ohno   Drums
Baby Kanako   Vocals
Welford Clark   Trombone
Chris Compton   Guitar,Background Vocals
Derrick Conyers   Trumpet
Curley Red   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Phil D. Fish   Drums
Ise Hirokazu   Percussion,Vocals
Colin Humphries   Tenor Saxophone
Rico Humphries   Trombone
Michihisa Ishikawa   Alto Saxophone
J'Mac   Drums
Naoyoshi Kozu   Percussion,Vocals
Persephone Laird   Vocals
Jordan E. Leven   Guitar
Shigeru Matsui   Bass
Ben Mayall   Bass
Kei Miyanaga   Bass
Kenji Miyazaki   Rhythm Guitar
Yuichi Mizuno   Harmonica
Massa Nagai   Piano
Akihito Nakasu   Percussion,Conga
Anton O'Doherty   Percussion,Background Vocals
Takeshie Okawa   Tenor Saxophone

Technical Credits

Rita Marley   Composer
Solomon Burke   Composer
Paul Desmond   Composer
Damian Korner   Engineer
Trevor Wyatt   Executive Producer
Gaz Mayall   Producer
Vincent Ford   Composer
Matthew Stringer   Executive Producer
Holly Ferguson   Executive Producer
Tatjana Krizmanic   Illustrations
R. Parker   Composer
B. Aitken   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews