×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Skin Deep (Laura Blackstone Series)
     

Skin Deep (Laura Blackstone Series)

4.0 23
by Mark Del Franco
 

See All Formats & Editions

A THRILLING NEW URBAN FANTASY SERIES FROM THE AUTHOR OF UNFALLEN DEAD AND UNQUIET DREAMS.

She'll need to keep up appearances-if she wants to stay alive...


Being an undercover agent has its occupational hazards, but Laura Blackstone makes it look easy. As a spy for a fey intelligence agency, she uses her magical abilities to create

Overview

A THRILLING NEW URBAN FANTASY SERIES FROM THE AUTHOR OF UNFALLEN DEAD AND UNQUIET DREAMS.

She'll need to keep up appearances-if she wants to stay alive...


Being an undercover agent has its occupational hazards, but Laura Blackstone makes it look easy. As a spy for a fey intelligence agency, she uses her magical abilities to create disguises that are skin deepglamours that must never be compromised. But when Laura's worlds collide she'll have more to worry about than retiring an identity; she may just lose her life.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Murder, mayhem and multiple identities merge in this electric series opener. In an alternate present where fey and human entities coexist more or less peacefully, Janice Crawford, a druid working for Washington, D.C., SWAT, is nearly killed in a mission gone awry. Mariel Tate, a high-ranking agent within a global security firm, InterSec, investigates, finding ties to a fey history exhibit at the National Archives curated by Laura Blackstone, the PR director for the Fey Guild. The catch is that Janice, Mariel and Laura are all one woman who keeps her personas separate by magic and sheer willpower. Readers will sometimes stumble back and forth to remember who is interacting with whom, but Del Franco (Unquiet Dreams) does a commendable job of blending each of Laura’s different personas into the addictively fast-paced narrative and fully believable setting. (Aug.)
Library Journal
Laura Blackstone is a druid, and her power involves the manipulation of essence, which can be used to create physical glamours—allowing her to appear to be other people. She has developed two other personas: Janice Crawford, a slightly dowdy member of the city's SWAT team, and Mariel Tate, a glamorous intelligence agent with no qualms about using her beauty to get information. When Janice is shot during a routine drug bust, Laura finds her three personas converging and realizes that she's in the middle of something much larger than a simple narcotics operation. VERDICT This new series launch by the author of the Connor Grey books (e.g., Unshapely Things) is spy fiction with a supernatural twist—think Alias's Sydney Bristow with magical powers. The politics in Del Franco's DC are even more complex than real-world politics, and the fey characters are clever and out of the ordinary. Fans of Jim Butcher's Dresden Files and Rob Thurman's Cal Leandros series will enjoy.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781101105146
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
07/28/2009
Series:
A Laura Blackstone Novel , #1
Sold by:
Penguin Group
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
301,438
File size:
287 KB
Age Range:
18 Years

Meet the Author

Mark Del Franco lives with his partner, Jack, in Boston, Massachusetts, where the orchids tremble in fear since he killed Jack’s palm plants.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Skin Deep 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
moncatrock More than 1 year ago
I was concerned at first about a male author writing about a female protagonist but I was thoroughly surprised at how Mr. Del Franco demonstrated a non-sexist view of Laura. Laura and her aliases was a strong protagonist. I cannot wait for the second book in the series. The author has left me clamoring for more, especially with the developing romance between Laura and Jono, especially the bantering back and forth between the two. It was an excellent first book, with plenty of story lines to pull from in the future from the supporting characters and the main characters themselves.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The main character, Laura Blackstone, lacks warmth and humanity. She's practically perfect, having only one single weakness, which does not make up for her lack of warmth. This just makes her an uninteresting character. Just as she hides her true lives from her coworkers, she hides her emotions from the reader. I got an intellectual picture of loneliness, but none of the emotion to go with it. I enjoyed and recommend the author's Connor Grey series (Unshapely Things, etc.) but I will probably skip future Laura Blackstone novels. I like Connor Grey. I couldn't warm up to Laura Blackstone.
Shallan More than 1 year ago
I am hooked on this universe that Mark has created. His Connor Grey novels are among my favorite in the Urban Fantasy arena and this one will join them on the bookshelf. While this story is in the same universe, it doesn't overlap Grey's world. Good action, characters I enjoy and can get attached to easily and a story line that flows nicely. Can't wait to see what the next chapter will be.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KJcreative More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the whole idea of the story. It just needs a little more jazz to it. Good, solid read. Will try another of authors books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago