Paperback(REPRINT)

$8.15 $12.95 Save 37% Current price is $8.15, Original price is $12.95. You Save 37%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

Skipped Parts by Tim Sandlin

"Skipped Parts is somewhere between The Catcher in the Rye and Even Cowgirls Get the Blues."-Los Angeles Times Book Review

The novel that inspired the movie starring Mischa Barton and Drew Barrymore

Banished to the hinterlands of Wyoming, rebellious Lydia Callahan and her thirteen-year-old son Sam have no choice but to cope. But while Lydia drinks and talks to the moose head on the wall, Sam finds a friend in local girl Maurey Pierce.

Sam and Maurey set out to discover for themselves what happens in the "skipped parts" of the novels they read — between the first kiss and the next morning. With Lydia's support the two teens set out on their sexual exploration, and deal with its consequences.

One of the wildest, raunchiest, most heartfelt coming-of-age novels of the past thirty years, Skipped Parts puts Tim Sandlin in the upper echelon of contemporary comic novelists.

This contemporary novel is raunchy, funny, and full of heart, perfect for fans of Nick Hornby, Jack Kerouac, Tom Robbins, Larry McMurtry, Joseph Heller, John Irving, Kurt Vonnegut, Carl Hiaasen.

Other books in Tim Sandlin's GroVant Trilogy:
Skipped Parts, Book 1
Sorrow Floats, Book 2
Social Blunders, Book 3
Lydia, Book 4

What readers are saying about Skipped Parts:

"deals with coming of age in a humorous and often poignant way"

"Plot twists that would make J.K. Rowling jealous, humor, beautifully drawn characters, a great sense for the detail of the West"

"sometimes heartwarming, often heartbreaking"

"poignant, FUNNY, SHOCKING, and even heartbreaking"

"the deep humor comes from the extraordinary characters"

"funny, sad, and full of heart"

What reviewers are saying about Skipped Parts:

"DAZZLING...moving...Sam's carapace is humor...He thinks like Holden Caulfield and has Joseph Heller's take on despair. His Walter Mitty—like fantasies are tiny comic gems... In the end you'll find yourself rooting for Sam." -New York Times Book Review

"A lighthearted, amusing, and tender story of preteen wisdom, adult immaturity, and the fine line between...An offbeat, engaging novel." -Publisher's Weekly

"This witty, often touching portrayal of a dirt-street-wise youth's coming-of-age sparkles with intelligence." -Booklist

"Thoughtful, surprising, and delightful entertainment." -St. Louis Post-Dispatch

What everyone is saying about Tim Sandlin:

"Tim Sandlin's stuff is as tight and funny as anyone doing this comedy novel thing." -Christopher Moore

"His prose, his characters, all amazing."

"A story of grand faux pas and dazzling dysfunction...a wildly satirical look at the absurdities of modern life." -The New York Times Book Review

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781573226011
Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
Publication date: 04/15/1997
Series: GroVont Series , #1
Edition description: REPRINT
Pages: 381
Product dimensions: 5.36(w) x 8.06(h) x 0.87(d)

About the Author

Tim Sandlin has published eight novels. Two of his screenplays have been made into movies. He turned forty with no phone, TV, or flush toilet and spent more time talking to the characters in his head than the people around him. He now has seven phone lines, four TVs he doesn't watch, three flush toilets, and a two-headed shower. He lives happily (indoors) with his family in Jackson, Wyoming.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Skipped Parts 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 346 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I picked up Skipped Parts by accident and I finished it in twenty four hours. I read the last two pages at the red light in front of my house and glanced at the about the author to my utmost exitement i learned it was a trilogy i skipped class and headed right to the store and bought Sorrow Floats. I finished that in twenty hours. READ THIS TRILOGY
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First of all, this is an ADULT book. I thought from reading the description, it might be something my daughter might like. Not unless she's over 18! A lot of sexual situations (teenage sex- minors with minors) But since I'm an adult, I thought it was hilarious and parts brought tears to my eyes! I want to read the two follow up books, to find out what happends to Maurey and Sam! I loved it and would recommend to all of the ADULTS out there who would like to read the funny side of growing up, from a 13 yr old boy's perspective! Definately recommend this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thirteen year old Sam Callahan is smart and curious about the world around him. A bit too curious I'd say. It's not a smart thing to experment with sex because it leads to consiquences. His mother Lydia is a bit over the top with the smoking and drinking and all but she proves her worth. Good book some parts not suitable for children under the eight grade. This book is a very good lesson for almost everyone.
kidney4 More than 1 year ago
Though I enjoyed reading this book, the storyline was a bit bizarre. The fact that Sam's mother taught him to have sex and how to satisfy a woman at such an early age was slightly inappropriate, especially if a younger reader picks this up. Perhaps a warning as to what age a person should read this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has evil elephants in it
mwinter More than 1 year ago
I liked the story line to this and reminded me of my younger days. Sometimes it was hard to believe the ages of these kids for what they were doing and getting away with. I look forward to reading the other 2 books in the trilogy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It got my attention from the start! It has a lot of interesting plot twists and immerses you into the story of Sam and Maurey. I loved every second of reading it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't get passed the first couple chapters--author finds a way to be as raunchy and disgusting as possible with his teenage protagonist. There was no need for this trash. Don't. waste your time
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I skipped parts and skipped ahead on this one. A bit too x rated for me. And I thought it to be completely unbelievable. However, it was well written with a few chuckles.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A mother teaching her 13 year old son how to have sex with a 13 year old girl who gets pregnant! That is sooo wrong! Im not a prude and a good romance or coming to age story is fun... But NOT 13 year olds! This was a "free book Friday book". I'm glad it was free... now I'm deleting it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could only read a few pages. It just did not make any sense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sam and Maurey's story is full of dysfunctional relationships and families. It is a funny read and well worth your time. This book is the first in a series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read
huskerjake More than 1 year ago
I found myself really drawn to the characters in the book. At first I was put off by the subject, but then started really getting sucked in to the drama. I started feeling for Sam even though this was 180 degrees different from my childhood. For one of the first times I found myself wanting to know what happened to the main characters after the end of the book. Does Sam finally get the girl, or does she still rip his heart out? Surprisingly good book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books i've read in a very, very long time. Every page pulls an emotion out of you in someway, if you're not laughing, you're disgusted. I didn't want for this book to end. Good thing that it's part of a trilogy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend all of Tim Sandlins wonderfully amusing books. He has a style that is a charming and refreshing break from the norm.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
YoyoMitch More than 1 year ago
Skipped Parts” a phrase indicating missing elements, whose importance is not noticed until well after they are needed, at which time the problem created by said parts being skipped is well established, of near overwhelming mass and cause for potential general panic when the void becomes widely known. For Sam Callahan, the untrustworthy narrator of this often hilarious, then by turn profane, novel, Skipped Parts refers to those moments in the fiction writing of pre-1960’s that are left to the reader’s imagination. For a 13 year-old on the brink of discovering adulthood, those parts are vital, he is curiosity about them boundless, in his pursuit of learning of these things, the fun ensues.  The fun lasts until he learns why those missing parts were so important and why they were needed before he got to this point in life. Sam and his mother, Lydia age “less than 30,” have been banished to Jackson Hole, Wyoming. The reason for their exile from Greensboro, N.C., by the hand of his Grandfather, Casper – the Carbon Paper King of America (the year being 1963, carbon paper is still in high demand but the seeds of its demise have been sown by Xerox and IBM) is a mystery to Sam. When the two had been expelled previously, it was always to more “civilized” places; “(Jackson Hole) was a mockery. Mars. Inside a vacuum cleaner bag. (p.10)” The world Sam will see a year from that observation is eons away from those early experiences. In that year he has seen enough to have returned to a safe, familiar home and found it to be enough. The book follows Sam on his journey from May ‘63 to June ’64. That year huge changes Sam and the World. Both grow up, losing significant parts of their innocence, getting eyes blackened and their hearts broken, while gaining perspective and, in Sam’s case at least, a family.  In all such journeys, this one is full of pain and discovery. Sam learns that not all things pleasurable bring pleasure and that just because something is difficult doesn’t mean he cannot accomplish it.   Much of this learning occurs with Maurey, the Blue-eyed (“eyes like Hitler” p.12) beautiful girl in his class. Lydia and Maurey are cut from the same cloth – smart, rebellious, unafraid, impulsive and mature beyond their abilities.  As much as Sam comes of age in the time the reader spends with him, Lydia grows up. She and Maurey step into their appropriate roles, accepting their choices and embracing the life set before them. Sam often gets dragged into the slip stream of these two juggernauts but managing to stay upright in their wake.  Sam, Lydia, Casper, Maurey – everyone – has skipped parts that are of large value in and to life.  While this is a book about children growing up in a far different time it is NOT a book for children. The book ends with the suggestion that what is skipped is vital, it will find a way to be known. May God help us all when those parts reveal themselves.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago