The Sky Below

The Sky Below

by Stacey D'Erasmo
3.8 4

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

The Sky Below by Stacey D'Erasmo

From a rising literary star “in the tradition of Carol Shields and A. S. Byatt” comes this luminous story of a contemporary man’s metamorphosis.
Andrea Barrett and Michael Cunningham have lauded Stacey D’Erasmo for the beauty of her language and her ability to create worlds that leave a lasting impression. In her new novel, D’Erasmo reaches back to Ovid for inspiration in this tale of how the mythic animates our everyday lives. At thirty-seven, Gabriel Collins works halfheartedly as an obituary writer at a fading newspaper in lower Manhattan, which, since 9/11, feels like a city of the dead. This once dreamy and appealing boy has turned from a rebellious adolescent to an adult who trades in petty crimes.His wealthy, older boyfriend is indulgent of him—to a point. But after a brush with his own mortality, Gabriel must flee to Mexico in order to put himself back together. By novel’s end, we know all of Gabriel’s ratty little secrets, but by dint of D’Erasmo’s spectacular writing, we exult in the story of an imperfect man who—tested by a world that is often too much for him—rises to meet the challenge.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780547394275
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication date: 04/21/2010
Sold by: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 288
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

STACEY D’ERASMO is a recipient of Guggenheim and Stegner Fellowships, the author of three previous novels and a book of nonfiction, The Art of Intimacy. Her work has also appeared in The New York Times (Magazine and Book Review), Bookforum, and Ploughshares, among others. She teaches in Columbia University's MFA program.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Sky Below 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She dashes in, grabs Ariel, and drags her out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Slapz
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
That's nice. *Returns to his cage.*