Sky Ghosts: The Night Before (Urban Fantasy series for adults)

Sky Ghosts: The Night Before (Urban Fantasy series for adults)

by Alexandra Engellmann

NOOK Book(eBook)

FREE
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Sky Ghosts: The Night Before (Urban Fantasy series for adults) by Alexandra Engellmann

For centuries, Sky Ghosts have been hiding their differences from humans, living among them in secret. Their powers, skills, and the gift of flight turned them into the best protectors the human elite could ever have. But for every one of them who believes in fair work and duty, there are ten more who use their power to prey on the weak and avoid justice. They're called Sky Beasts, and the war between them and the New York Sky Ghosts Headquarters has reached a fever pitch.
Patricia aka Pain is known as the “kill first, ask questions later” kind of girl. An urban legend at twenty-one, she helps to secure the Headquarters’ future in her own way - by slaughtering Beasts in between working bodyguard jobs. When a certain gang leader resurfaces on the gloomy Brooklyn outskirts, she makes a plan, which includes her big sword, her best friend, and good old improvisation.
There’s only one minor detail - it all sounds too good to not be a trap.

Perfect for fans of Suicide Squad and Deadpool, The Avengers, Buffy and all things Joss Whedon, Batman, X-Men, and Arrow

Product Details

BN ID: 2940153162003
Publisher: Alexandra Engellmann
Publication date: 08/02/2016
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 234,940
File size: 276 KB

About the Author

Alexandra Engellmann is a full-time Fantasy writer. She spends her free time nerding out on movies, fangirling, tweeting way too much, and occasionally riding her mountain bike. Visit her website at http://www.engellmann.com Read more about Alexandra on Patreon https://www.patreon.com/engellmann Follow her on Twitter at @engellmann

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sky Ghosts: The Night Before (Urban Fantasy series for adults) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Pure_Jonel More than 1 year ago
What an intriguing introduction into the world that Engellmann has created. She allows readers to dip their toes in, getting to know the characters and having a taste of the world while also leaving them wanting to know more about this intriguing world so like our own yet also completely different. Engellmann’s writing was engaging, keeping me hooked and really bringing forward the plot. Engllemann places her realistic characters in a fantastically exciting, supernatural world. Engellmann’s originality and solid writing are sure to send this series flying, creating an exciting and fast paced world that will leave readers wanting more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read and reviewed the first two Sky Ghosts books and reading Sky Ghosts: The Night Before, I feel privileged to have another glimpse into this world Engellmann has created and into the character Pain. The character Pain is very multi-dimensional and more and more aspects of her personality are emerging. The first few lines of dialogue you might think Pain is talking to someone seated across from her, but you quickly realize what kind of scenario you're in and who Pain is. This shows how clever Alexandra Engellmann is in this descriptive approach of the character and the setting. I'm proud to see how this author is maturing in her craft.
Fantasybkgirl More than 1 year ago
Sky Ghosts is by far one of those books that I will remember for a long time. I may even reread it sometime in the future if I find the time. Yeah it was that good! I am usually one for fantasy with romance being a main point of the story. This book does have a tiny bit of romance but it wasn't the main theme of the book. The characters and the plot of the story overtook any chance of me wanting more. The author gave me everything I love and more. I wish I could be a Sky Ghost and get to hang with Pain and her friends. Pain is one of the main characters, although her personality takes over everyone else at times. She is a kick butt, take no prisoners kind of girl. I loved everything about her. Some people might say she is too much but I loved her attitude. Her sister Jane, is a Sky Ghost too and is a really great fighter but she is more reserved with what she says and how she treats others. While out patrolling one night they come across two human boys, Chad and Dave, who are in trouble. When they get them back to Sky Ghost headquarters Pain and Jane are told they've been assigned to protect them. Pain is not happy with this at all. She doesn't want to be stuck at headquarters watching over these two human boys. Their world will be turned upside down with many revelations to come. This story has it all, action, suspense, kick butt fighters, villains, romance and so much more. I was on the edge of my seat so many times. The action is awesome, the suspense is thrilling and the characters are exciting and fun. I really enjoyed how it was not predictable and there was always something changing or happening. I can't wait to read what comes next in this story! This is an author that I will be on the lookout for more books from. I won this e-book. This does not affect my review in any way.