Skyscraper [Original Broadway Cast] [Bonus Track]

Skyscraper [Original Broadway Cast] [Bonus Track]

by Original Studio Cast

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Skyscraper [Original Broadway Cast] [Bonus Track]

The songwriting team of Sammy Cahn and Jimmy Van Heusen was best known for their movie theme songs and specially written tunes for Frank Sinatra. But by the mid-'60s, that work had become only occasional, and they turned to Broadway. Both had been there before with other partners; Cahn had last written a stage musical 18 years earlier, Van Heusen 12 years back. Skyscraper was librettist Peter Stone's adaptation of Elmer Rice's 1945 play Dream Girl crossed with the early-'60s controversy about the destruction of venerable New York City buildings to make way for urban development. The serious political issue was used to create romantic conflict for a rich brownstone owner, played by Julie Harris (making her debut as a musical comedy star after a distinguished career in straight plays), and an architect played by Peter Marshall, prior to his renown as the host of TV's Hollywood Squares. Another future alumnus of that show, Charles Nelson Reilly, provided comic relief. Cahn and Van Heusen penned some appealing songs, the best of which were "Everybody Has the Right to Be Wrong" and "I'll Only Miss Her When I Think of Her," the latter earning recordings by Sinatra, Tony Bennett, Peggy Lee, and others. The principals did their jobs adequately, but Skyscraper was still a minor musical that didn't deserve better than its six-month run, and the original cast album, which spent two months in the charts, remains a footnote in the careers of the songwriters and the performers. [The 2002 reissue adds the Charles Nelson Reilly-sung "Just the Crust" as a bonus track.]

Product Details

Release Date: 04/23/2002
Label: Drg
UPC: 0021471902624
catalogNumber: 19026

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Original Cast Recording   Primary Artist
Julie Harris   Track Performer
Peter Marshall   Track Performer
Charles Nelson Reilly   Vocals,Track Performer
John Lesko   Musical Direction
Rex Everhart   Track Performer
Dick O'Neill   Vocals

Technical Credits

Stan Freberg   Composer
Leonard Bernstein   Composer
George Gershwin   Composer
Miklós Rózsa   Composer
Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky   Composer
Trevor Rabin   Composer
Michel Legrand   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Harold Rome   Composer
John Kander   Composer
Jerry Ross   Composer
Richard Adler   Composer
Leslie Bricusse   Composer
Sammy Cahn   Composer,Lyricist
Mark Mancina   Composer
David Shire   Composer
James Van Heusen   Composer
Marvin Laird   Dance Arrangement
Stanley Green   Liner Notes
Theoni V. Aldredge   Costume Design
Lucas Deaver   Art Direction
Fred Werner   Orchestration
Friedman-Abeles   Production Photography
Richard Jones   Producer
Peter Stone   Book
Dick Jones   Producer
Janet Gari   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews