B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
Slade

Slade

by Robb Grindstaff

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

An unlikely celebrity with a self-help book becomes a reluctant spiritual guru to the Hollywood elite, spawning a cult he wants nothing to do with.

"...a unique attempt, using an unusual style and format, to pinpoint and highlight both the light and dark sides of the human psyche. Slade is an incredibly powerful and thought-provoking story... This is a fantastic book on many levels and I can highly recommend it." ~ Readers' Favorite Book Reviews, Grant Leishman (5 Stars)

A car crash thirty years earlier left Slade Bennington severely disabled but with a new outlook on life. His book about overcoming trauma becomes a bestseller and a box office hit movie. Slade strikes up an unusual friendship with Schuyler, the six-foot-tall teenage actress who portrays his sister in the movie. She encourages him to continue writing, and his pithy musings about life spur a nationwide following of devotees who study his books like Holy Scriptures.

Slade becomes a counselor to the celebrity in-crowd—the Shaman to the Stars. While thousands adore Slade, others call him a Svengali or Rasputin-like character who controls and manipulates his clients.

One disillusioned fan spends years plotting revenge.

EVOLVED PUBLISHING PRESENTS an offbeat literary/satire novel that unfolds in a series of interviews with the main character and those who know him best, plus snippets from Slade's books and news reports. The unconventional structure, dark humor, and cast of quirky characters will appeal to readers of Chuck Palahniuk and John Irving.

BOOKS BY ROBB GRINDSTAFF:

  • "Carry Me Away"
  • "Hannah's Voice"
  • "June Bug Gothic"
  • "Slade"
  • "Turning Trixie" [Fall 2022]

MORE GREAT LITERARY FICTION FROM EVOLVED PUBLISHING:

  • The "Holidazed" Series by Gregg Sapp
  • "A Debt of War" by Michael Ringering
  • "The Clovis Dig" by Teri Fink
  • "The Daughter of the Sea and the Sky" by David Litwack
  • "Deep Mud" by Ty Spencer Vossler

 



Related collections and offers

Product Details

BN ID: 2940166482396
Publisher: Evolved Publishing LLC
Publication date: 05/02/2022
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 790,397
File size: 974 KB

About the Author

In addition to a career as a newspaper editor, publisher, and manager, Robb Grindstaff has written fiction most of his life. The newspaper biz has taken him and his family from Phoenix, Arizona, to small towns in North Carolina, Texas, and Wisconsin, from seven years in Washington, D.C., to five years in Asia. Born and raised a small-town kid, he’s as comfortable in Tokyo or Tuna, Texas.

The variety of places he’s lived and visited serve as settings for the characters who invade his head.

His novels are probably best classified as contemporary southern lit, and he’s had more than a dozen short stories published in a wide array of genres. His articles on the craft of fiction writing have appeared in various writer magazines and websites, and one of his seminars was presented at the Sydney (Australia) Writers Festival. He also has taught writing courses for the Romance Writers of America, Romance Writers of Australia, and Savvy Authors.

Robb retired from the newspaper business in the summer of 2020 to write and edit fiction full time.

Customer Reviews