Slave to Fortune

Slave to Fortune

by D J Munro


$15.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, February 28

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781999605513
Publisher: DJ Munro
Publication date: 07/19/2018
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 701,182
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.82(d)

About the Author

DJ Munro grew up as one of eight children on the Isle of Wight, off the south coast of England. After high school, he headed north to university in Scotland to study English literature and has degrees in economics. He now lives in Edinburgh with his wife and three children and is an official in the Scottish Government.

He has enjoyed a varied career to date, working with some of the biggest names in British and Scottish politics. His work has taken him across the Middle East and Africa, to China and Japan, Europe and the USA. He has worked on areas including crime and justice, housing, energy, tackling poverty and inequality, economic policy and international finance. He currently works on improving employment and skills in Scotland.

His novel writing has a traditional style, drawing influence from classic authors of the late 19th and early 20th centuries, including Scottish authors such as Robert Louis Stevenson and Neil Munro. Into his writing he injects modern themes, ensuring relevance to readers today.

Years of late-night research and writing resulted in his debut novel - Slave to Fortune - first published in 2015. The novel was a first place category winner for historical fiction at the Chanticleer International Book Awards (2017) and also won the Grand Prize for young adult fiction. It has been a number one best-selling historical thriller on

Table of Contents

Chapter 1: Kidnapped

Chapter 2: Barbary Corsairs

Chapter 3: The Prize

Chapter 4: Algiers

Chapter 5: The Auction

Chapter 6: Servitude

Chapter 7: Learning

Chapter 8: Money

Chapter 9: Evidence

Chapter 10: Justice

Chapter 11: Escape

Chapter 12: Deliverance

Chapter 13: Edward

Chapter 14: The Cipher

Chapter 15: Malta

Chapter 16: Grand Master

Chapter 17: The Ransom

Chapter 18: Venice

Chapter 19: Homeward

Chapter 20: Portsmouth

Chapter 21: Chance Encounter

Chapter 22: The Island



Further information

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews