Slipping on Stardust

Slipping on Stardust

by Gordon Osmond

Paperback

$11.99

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

Slipping on Stardust by Gordon Osmond

There's nothing like the arrival of a Hollywood star to stir the passions of the people of Johnson, a sleepy small town in Ohio. During his stay with Johnson's most physically appealing family, the star shakes up the lives of the reigning queen of the local theatre scene, her lawyer husband, and the couple's handsome but sexually undecided son. Add a scandal at the husband's law firm and a kidnapping with suicide demanded as ransom and you have what propels family members to New York City and Hollywood and Gordon Osmond's debut novel to its shattering conclusion.

Those who have ever been involved in small-town life, regional theatre, adolescent rebellion, or legal entanglements, and those who admire the works of Oscar Wilde and Kurt Vonnegut, to whose writing style Osmond's has been likened, will find themselves within the fast-turning pages of Slipping on Stardust.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781618856616
Publisher: Sweet Cravings Publishing
Publication date: 04/27/2013
Pages: 182
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.39(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Slipping on Stardust 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
EmilyAL More than 1 year ago
What a brilliant story! I personally truly enjoyed reading it. It is a true page turned that has kept me hooked on its characters from beginning till the end. The plot was always one step ahead of me, which is what I most appreciate in a book. A perfect combination of seduction, scandal and crime, it is a book that I warmly recommend to anyone looking for a good romantic suspense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an excellent story, and I loved the references to stage and screen - numerous characters, scenes, and famous lines. This story became intertwined with each of those connections.
mazeman More than 1 year ago
“Slipping on Stardust” by Gordon Osmond is a story about a small town in Ohio. A once-famous B-movie actor gets a job starring in the local production of “Little Sheba”, cast alongside the town’s self-proclaimed diva. She is a woman who has always longed to get out of this small town and find her own glory on the big screen, but her ambition is trapped by her marriage to the local lawyer, who is successful enough to pay for her high maintenance life style. Their son and his friends, and the husband’s law partners fill out the cast. When I accepted a Kindle version for review purposes, I was told that it was a two-flame romance. It’s not. Romance is a story about two people who have to overcome a problem in order to fall in love. This story has a large cast of characters, all of whom are either married or dating someone already. I’m not sure what genre the book falls into. If it was a television show, it would be a soap opera. The terms “contemporary Shakespere” or “gay literature” also apply. It’s not a story about love so much as failure, broken dreams and bad marriages. It highlights several types of stereotyping going on in our culture today; towards gays, blondes, and straight men who prefer typically female activities like dance and cooking, but without offering any solution to those situations. Two flames is also the wrong category for this work. It contains some clean sex scenes, a little bit of foul language, and a pro-gay platform, but it doesn’t even start to simmer due to a lack of engagement. Engagement is when the reader feels drawn into the story. Since the entire story is about acting, perhaps the best way to explain this is to compare this book to a television show. “Murder She Wrote” and “NCIS” are engaging because it is filmed on a street or in an actual house. It makes you feel like you’re standing next to the characters listening to what they say. It’s believable because the actors walk and wave their hands in a natural way. The writing style of this book is more like the British murder mysteries that are aired on PBS. They are filmed on a very small set, where the actors deliver their lines and tell the viewer what happened. It also reminds me of “Hot in Cleveland”, another show that is filmed on a set, is acted instead of portrayed, and features a large cast of people who are not typical Buckeyes. The author has experience writing screen plays, and it shows in his writing style. The book makes you feel like you’re watching a local production of an off-off-Broadway play. It makes reference to a lot of classic movies such as “Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner?” and “Streetcar Named Desire.” A movie buff, or a local theater buff might enjoy the book for that reason. Fans of Kelsey Grammer or Fred Astaire might like it as well, as the main characters reminded me of them. The main rule of engagement is “show, don’t tell.” Telling is a fault in most stories when the author lapses into it from time to time. This author, however, tells the story with such consistency that it seems to be a style of its own. Other than that, it was well-paced, adequately foreshadowed, and interesting.