The Small House at Allington

The Small House at Allington

by Anthony Trollope
3.7 6


$13.51 $18.95 Save 29% Current price is $13.51, Original price is $18.95. You Save 29%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


The Small House at Allington by Anthony Trollope

The Small House at Allington is the fifth book in Anthony Trollope’s Barchester series. As with all of Trollope's work, it is beautifully written and draws the reader into its many interwoven tales. Engaged to the ambitious and self-serving Adolphus Crosbie, Lily Dale is devastated when he jilts her for the aristocratic Lady Alexandrina. Although crushed by his faithlessness, Lily still believes she is bound to her unworthy former fiance for life and therefore condemned to remain single after his betrayal. And when a more deserving suitor pays his addresses, she is unable to see past her feelings for Crosbie. Written when Trollope was at the height of his popularity, The Small House at Allington contains his most admired heroine in Lily Dale, a young woman of independent spirit who nonetheless longs to be loved.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781845882228
Publisher: Nonsuch Publishing
Publication date: 10/01/2006
Series: Nonsuch Classics Series
Pages: 640
Product dimensions: 4.90(w) x 6.60(h) x 1.97(d)

About the Author

About The Author
Victorian-era novelist Anthony Trollope (1815 -1882) was best-known for his novels known as the "Chronicles of Barsetshire", involving the imaginary county of Barsetshire. He wrote about topical matters including political, social, and gender issues. His father was a barrister and he was educated in privileged, public schools Harrow School and Winchester but he had limited means and relied on his imagination to escape.
His mother had success as a writer, but his father gave up the law for farming and eventually fled to Belgium to avoid arrest. In Belgium, Anthony Trollope was offered a commission in an Austrian cavalry regiment and learned French and German, but instead returned to London to work at the Post Office. He volunteered to worked in Ireland and redeemed himself as a public servant. His salary and travel allowance went much further in Ireland than they had in London, and he enjoyed a small measure of prosperity. It was in Ireland that Trollope met Rose Heseltine, the daughter of a Rotherham bank manager, and they married.
At the time of his marriage, he wrote The Macdermots of Ballycloran, his first novel, and wrote during long train trips around Ireland while working for the post office. As a result, many of his earliest novels have Ireland as their backdrop, reflecting his life there during the great famine. (The Macdermots of Ballycloran, The Landleaguers, and Castle Richmond). The Kellys and the O'Kellys (1848) is a humorous comparison of the romantic pursuits of the landed gentry (Francis O'Kelly, Lord Ballindine) and his Catholic tenant (Martin Kelly).
In 1851, Trollope was sent to England for work, travelling throughout Great Britain on horseback and train. He visited Salisbury Cathedral where, according to his autobiography, he conceived the plot of The Warden, the first of the six Barsetshire novels. Barchester Towers, the second Barsetshire novel, was a success and he received an advance payment of £100.
George Murray Smith and William Makepeace Thackeray, who were starting a magazine, offered £1000 for a novel, which led to Trollope writing "Framley Parsonage", setting it near Barchester. It proved enormously successful and his position in literary society was solidified.
Trollope eventually resigned from the Post Office, hoping to be elected to the House of Commons. He stood as a Liberal candidate in Yorkshire but finished as the last of four candidates amid cries of corruption.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Small House at Allington 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Sneezy0984 More than 1 year ago
This is the 5th book in the Barsetshire Chronicles. Very few of the characters from any of the previous novels make appearances in this story. At first it's a bit difficult to get attached to the new characters but once you do the story is enjoyable. As with the other books in this series, the main plot is concerned with several sets of young lovers of varying classes in Britain in the mid 1860's. It's quite clear that the author doesn't think much of the class system. Also, just like the other novels, there are many chapters of description and distraction that have nothing to do with the main story. If the book was written today his editor would have probably asked him to cut the book by 50 pages. If you've read the first four books in the series it's worth reading. If you haven't read the first four I would read them first. If you make it through those you'll have to read this one too to finish up the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago