Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.



by Martha E. H. Rustad

See All Formats & Editions

Simple text and photographs present the life cycle of apple snails.


Simple text and photographs present the life cycle of apple snails.

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Sharon Oliver
This small volume from the Pebble "Watch It Grow" series provides perfunctory introductory information on the reproductive cycle and growth of snails, primarily the apple snail. The book is divided into three sections, "What Are Snails?" "From Egg to Hatchling" and "From Hatchling to Adult". We learn that snails are invertebrates and that the apple snail lives in water. The book quickly progresses through the snail life cycle of egg, hatchling, and adult. The last section provides some more details on the life of the apple snail and its anatomy. The book alternates text with full-page photographs. The photos are clearly linked to the text and many contain small inset photos to show detail or labels to identify body parts. The text is short and to the point, but lacking in some detailed information. For instance, we are told, "Its tentacles, eyes, and mouth are on its head." The tentacle is identified in the accompanying photo, but the reader would have to turn to the glossary to find out what a tentacle is and nowhere are we told what the tentacle's purpose is for the snail. An average glossary is provided as well as two titles for further reading and directions to the publisher's web site for further Internet reading. In addition to limited information, the small size of the book, 7?" x 6?" is really a detriment. Hands small enough to be truly comfortable with the size would belong to a reader too young for the text and small nonfiction books tend to get lost on library shelves. This is a necessary purchase only if your patrons have a need for many books about snails. Reviewer: Sharon Oliver

Product Details

Capstone Publishing Company
Publication date:
Watch It Grow Series
Product dimensions:
5.70(w) x 6.70(h) x 0.10(d)
Age Range:
4 - 6 Years

Meet the Author

Martha E. H. Rustad is the author of more than one hundred nonfiction children's books, on topics ranging from baby ducks to black holes to ancient Babylon. She lives with her family in Brainerd, Minnesota.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews