Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances: A feel good Christmas romance with all the trimmings

Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances: A feel good Christmas romance with all the trimmings

by Sue Watson

Paperback

$10.79 $11.99 Save 10% Current price is $10.79, Original price is $11.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, June 21

Overview

Escape to Devon for blustery walks along the beach, hot chocolate with extra marshmallows and proof that miracles really do happen, especially at Christmas.

A year after she separated from her husband, Gianni, on Christmas Day, Chloe’s heart is still in pieces as she unpacks the decorations for her first ever festive holiday alone. That is, until the phone rings…

It seems Gianni’s new seaside restaurant is in trouble and Chloe must go to Appledore to save the business – and him. Equally famous for his experimental culinary extravaganzas and his explosive temper, Gianni has been really stirring up a sensation with the locals – and not in a good way!

As pans fly and the temperature in the kitchen rises, Chloe’s calming influence and magic touch might just get critics back on side in time to save the restaurant from sinking like a sad soufflé. But will it be enough to save their marriage?

Chloe came to Appledore in search of her Christmas sparkle, but when the snow clears, will she finally find the way back to her husband’s heart?

A laugh-out-loud festive treat that will give you the tingle of freshly-hung tinsel. Perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Abby Clements and Debbie Johnson.

What readers are saying about Sue Watson:

I can't express how satisfying and enjoyable I found every second of this wonderfully entertaining story.’ Rachel’s Random Reads, 5 stars

‘This is such a truly wonderful book. Thank you Sue Watson for creating such larger than life characters who never fail to give us hope whilst giving us an utterly enjoyable reading experience.’ By The Letter Book Reviews, 5 stars

‘If you're looking for a 'getaway' read, you can never go wrong with Sue Watson! Another win!Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

‘After having read and thoroughly enjoyed Ella's Ice Cream Summer recently, I just knew that I had to read the second instalment. Overall it was a truly great inspirational read, really makes you think about certain things. Thoroughly enjoyable and highly recommended.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

‘This was a fantastic read, one that kept a huge smile on my face and had me laughing right the way through it… Overall this was a super summer read one I think a lot of people can relate too and be inspired by the character Dani.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Fun, summer feel-good book! Many funny, laugh out loud moments as well as some more sober ones. Great beach read!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 4 stars

‘This book came at the perfect time for me. It made me a little emotional, it made me smile, it made me laugh and if offered me the escape I needed. I'm looking forward to the second book in this series!’ Novel Deelights

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781786812995
Publisher: StoryFire LTD
Publication date: 10/12/2017
Pages: 294
Sales rank: 866,007
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 1.25(h) x 9.00(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances: A feel good Christmas romance with all the trimmings 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
gaele More than 1 year ago
Returning to the world of Ella’s Ice Cream Summer and Curves, Kisses and Chocolate Ice Cream we get to meet Chloe, separated and in transition after her marriage to Gianni, an Italian chef. Chloe and Gianni had a tumultuous relationship that was full of love, but lacking in communication. Through the ups and downs of their life together their dynamic was fixed: Gianni acting like a spoilt 3 year old in tantrum mode with an odd combination of swears, laughable missed words and a reputation for irascibility. But, London foodies love the ‘show’ and he was the next big thing, spending less time with Chloe and more at the restaurant, glomming onto the ego rush as the ‘Italian Bad Boy’. While Gianni was off with the restaurant, Chloe was dealing with her own depression and feelings of inadequacy over 3 miscarriages – convinced Gianni deserved children and she wasn’t worthy of his love. Oh these two – because Gianni found it hard to speak about his own emotions, and hid them behind bravado, Chloe didn’t push for answers she needed, or ask for the reassurance and attention she needed. But she shut him out – something she slowly came to realize as the two are thrown together again as she was hired to do the PR for his new restaurant, his own last chance effort to make a success of his life. Told from Chloe’s point of view, it’s easy to feel her frustrations and sorrows, but when she starts to see Gianni’s tells – his nerves, his frustrations, and starts to wonder if there is a chance for them to make another start of their marriage. Sue Brown takes us through the rebuilding of a relationship through Chloe’s eyes, as she rediscovers what she wants (Gianni), who she loves (Gianni) and her ability to soften his rough edges and understand the whys of what he does, rather than just the horror at the actual events. Seriously, who attacks a critic with a sausage? Oh there’s so much more here – from the reintroduction to Sue and her malapropisms with Delilah the dressed Pomeranian, Elle, Roberta and Gina. A clever aside with Chloe’s half-hearted attempt to move on with a Sci-Fi geek and deli owner who doesn’t understand the word no, and the wonder of Appledore and Gull cottage, even in the midst of a blustery winter. This was a devour in one sitting story, with plenty of emotion, hope and lots of laughter to go around. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review, all conclusions are my own responsibility.
Suze-Lavender More than 1 year ago
Chloe used to love Christmas, but this year she doesn't have any plans. She's living alone and there's no special person in her life at the moment. She and her husband Gianni split up a year ago and went their separate ways. They grew apart and Chloe couldn't take feeling neglected anymore. She left and he let her go. When she gets a call with a job offer she's surprised when she finds out it's for Gianni's new restaurant in Appledore. Chloe is an events manager and Gianni needs her help. Chloe isn't particularly happy with the job, but maybe it will bring them some much needed closure? Gianni hasn't exactly made friends in Appledore, He lets his temper rule his actions and that keeps getting him into trouble. Will Chloe manage to get him out of it again? While trying to make Gianni see the error of his ways, good memories of the past come to the surface. Gianni shows Chloe he still has a kinder side as well and their shared love for food gives them a chance to reconnect. Is their marriage truly over or will the magic of Christmas bring them back together? Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances is a wonderful festive story. Chloe is practical, sweet and romantic. She loves the holidays and likes to make people happy. Gianni is a difficult man. He's temperamental, fierce and incredibly proud. He's passionate about food in a fantastic artistic way. He can cook really well, but he doesn't have good people skills. He offends, shouts, scolds and sulks, but combines this with a cute sense of humor, which is absolutely adorable. It's clear from the start that he and Chloe have a complicated bond. They went through a lot and my heart ached for their losses. They don't handle it well and there's fire and ice in their relationship in abundance, which is an interesting combination and I couldn't wait to find out where that would lead. It's clear from the start that they are each other's soul mates and I was anxious to discover if love would be enough in this case. Sue Watson has a lovely warm writing style that always manages to put me in a good mood. She has a great sense of humor and knows how to work with tension in her stories. This combination makes them a real treat. I enjoyed the intensity of Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances and admired its spirited dialogue. The story is fascinating, merry and strong. I'm a big fan of books about true love and the possibility of second chances and this is such an amazing one. Sue Watson combines this with mouthwatering descriptions of food and it's obvious she knows what she's writing about. The result is a fabulous story that often made me smile. I highly recommend this dazzling, delicious and energetic Christmas book.
Splashesintobooks1 More than 1 year ago
Looking for a story of Christmas miracles? Look no further than this adorable second chance romance by the highly talented author, Sue Watson. Told in the first person by Chloe, memories of how she first met Gianni, married him and then left him are emotively shared. Now he needs her help to save his restaurant business which necessitates her travelling to the cottage they once shared so happily in Appledore. Can she keep their arrangement a business one? Can she bring their marriage to a close but still remain friends with him whilst also helping to save his business? You’ll have to read it yourself to find out what happens! This is a very moving story, looking back on happy memories, sharing the trauma of sad ones and the hopes and dreams for the future. As Chloe and her passionate, Italian, chef and restauranteur husband meet again in the beautiful seaside resort, they start to reevaluate their past and explore their feelings for each other again.  There are some superb interactions that will have you laughing out loud, some tasty food (including ice cream) that’ll have you drooling and a community that is brought to life in vivid detail. This is a heartwarming and mouth-watering romance, a story of not appreciating what you have till you lose it, of the importance of communication to keep love and relationships alive. It is a delightful festive read and I thought the Snowflakes also sounded gorgeous, too! I requested and received a copy of this novel, via NetGalley, with no obligation. This is my honest review after choosing to read it.
AliTheDragonSlayer More than 1 year ago
I do like the way you can just slip back into a Sue Watson book and know exactly what you are going to get. If you are after distinctive characters, some romance and plenty of fun then look no further. Just to add to the joy throw in some festivities and enjoy. We go back in Appledore the seaside town in Devon with a magical feel. Chloe has been adapting to life after her relationship breakdown with Gianni but then gets called to help him with the marketing for his new restaurant. Chloe is down to earth, lovable and determined to be professional. Gianni is a red hot Italian never afraid to say what he thinks and create havoc. I was torn between finding him overly obnoxious or quite cute with his accent and mannerisms. Anyone who has read previous books will know food plays a huge part, usually mouthwatering goodies galore. There are a few ‘novel’ delights on the menu which may not be quite so appetising! There is still a distinct spark between Chloe and Gianni, so will working alongside each other surrounded by the locals amid the Christmas spirit re-ignite their passion? Once they begin talking properly about previous events perhaps there is hope but can Chloe tolerate the over-sized ego of Gianni! A lovely easy to read book to get you into the spirit of the season .. check out Sue’s delightful style of writing, Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances will be sure to keep you entertained. Thanks to the author, publisher and Netgalley for my copy which I read and reviewed voluntarily.