Snowy Nights at the Lonely Hearts Hotel: A heartwarming feel good romance

Snowy Nights at the Lonely Hearts Hotel: A heartwarming feel good romance

by Karen King

Paperback

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, September 19

Overview

Snowy rooftops, mulled wine, and a hot single dad. Not the Christmas Saffy wished for… but maybe the one she needs?



Twenty-nine year old Saffron Baxter knew her holiday plans didn’t stand a chance the moment her sister called to say she was stuck abroad with no hope of being home before Christmas. Saffy would just have to abandon thoughts of wild festive parties in the city and head down to remote Cornwall.



Because every year her sister hosts a huge Christmas meal for all the single parents in her village. And Saffy knows it’d break her heart to let them down.



Arriving as snow starts to fall over the thatched cottages of the little harbour town of Port Breok, she meets Logan – the tall, fair-haired, blue-eyed, devoted single dad who lives next door, with his adorable daughter Chloe. At first she thinks he might help her make Christmas Day extra-memorable, but he just seems convinced she’ll never manage – that she’s just a party girl who doesn’t care about Christmas, or anyone’s feelings.



Maybe he’s right. After all – she doesn’t want to settle down, she’s only there for a few days… But she’s still determined to do her sister proud with gorgeous decorations, the most beautiful real tree – complete with extra twinkly lights, and delicious mince pies. To make it a Christmas everyone will remember, especially little Chloe. Even if, when the mistletoe comes down, she knows she’ll probably never see Logan again…



The perfect festive romance novel, ideal for fans of Nora Roberts, Jenny Hale and Debbie Macomber.

Readers love Snowy Nights at the Lonely Hearts Hotel:



‘Oh my, what a fabulous romantic and festive read! I absolutely love the setting for this story and the fact that there is quite a bit of snow which really gets the festive feeling across to the reader. There really is so much to love about this story… a truly fabulous feel good read that will definitely have you feeling all loved up and romantic by the end. The perfect festive read.By the Letter Book Reviews, 5 stars



Fantastic from the first page to the last. I really didn't want it to end at all. So enchanting and romantic and about finding your own happiness when you don't think you can… A simply fantastic read, highly recommend it.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars



I loved this book!!! This one really had it all: fun characters, a break-up, an engagement, Christmas, and of course a crazy dog!’ My Life as a Dog Bed, 5 stars



Simply put this book was amazing! This book pulls at your heartstrings... Highly recommend.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars



I loved this light hearted, witty and romantic storyline that did touch on a couple of more delicate subjects and this was handled with great care… I would definitely recommend this book if you want something to get you in the festive spirit.’ Rea’s Book Reviews, 5 stars

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781786815538
Publisher: StoryFire LTD
Publication date: 11/09/2018
Pages: 288
Product dimensions: 5.06(w) x 7.81(h) x 0.60(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Snowy Nights at the Lonely Hearts Hotel: A heartwarming feel good romance 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
gaele More than 1 year ago
Saffy is a go-getter and career girl, and completely attached to her belief that she doesn’t need a man or relationship to make her life complete. With a set of lovely friends and a sister with twins and a husband down in Cornwall, she’s never prioritized ‘family’ time, and has a litany of events planned for the Christmas holidays. But, a wrench is thrown into the works when her sister Hannah calls in a favor: she and her husband are in Tenerife for a pre-holiday getaway, but the twins are down with measles, and won’t be able to fly until Boxing Day. Which means that the Christmas dinner that Hannah has hosted for years for the single parents and their kids won’t be held, unless Saffy steps up. Alternately pulling in a favor and guilting her into it, Saffy agrees to head to Cornwall to her sister’s B & B, and manage the event. Despite her reservations and unease about all of the children that will arrive. Logan and his daughter Chloe have been watching Hannah’s dog, and keeping an eye on their home, and Hannah has offered up his services to help Saffy out with the prep for the party. Nothing to it, Saffy is in this to win it, and she’s got plenty of ideas of her own. It’s not that she doesn’t want family, but her father’s leaving when she was a child left her feeling that nothing is permanent, and with a bad breakup years earlier, that feeling was reinforced. Logan’s ex Jade, Chloe’s mother, disappeared and has been an infrequent and unreliable parent. Unwilling to see his little girl hurt again, and with one ‘relationship’ with someone in the small village that ended badly and still makes things awkward, he’s not interested in anyone remotely “career oriented’, finding them too reminiscent of his selfish ex. When you add in Saffy’s first impressions (city-girl, pulled together with mile-high heels) and her obvious unwillingness to ‘ask’ for help – these two have an interesting start. Made worse by the electricity sparking between them. When you add in the arrival of one of Saffy’s best friends, Robbie, devastated and pouty when his proposal to his partner Duncan didn’t go to plan, the addition of another party to the mix helps Logan and Saffy to start to build a friendship, and the child-like excitement when Chloe discovers Saffy’s polar bear onesie (WITH ears and a tail!) seals the deal. Back and forth, we see Logan’s worries for Chloe and the issues with her mother and the stress weighing on him. It makes him quick to react, and often with the worst of impressions. But Saffy’s starting to see (and perhaps want) something different for herself, something she never considered: a family and children. Things she believes are both impossible and will end every relationship before it starts – she can’t risk the hurt again. Making sure that Robbie and Duncan patch things up, getting the party with thirty-five guests, games, presents and food, and getting that white Christmas, Saffy’s back and forth has highlights of great heights and some pretty large moments of self-correction. Bonding with Logan and Chloe, but thinking that ‘casual’ is all it can be, Saffy’s desire for a family, a connection to a place and people who are more than friends, and the offer of a promotion at her work that brings her closer to her sister and the people she’s come to meet over the holiday. With solid advice and support from friends and family, and a new chance with Logan who has found (for the moment) a happy medium with his ex and her relations
Valerian70 More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best festive reads I have stumbled across this year - and I did stumble across it in my usual trawl for a seasonal read by an author I have never tried before. Always a bit of a gamble but occasionally that gamble pays off and this was one such time - it was very welcome too as I had just finished a handful of quite disappointing reads. It is quite predictable in its plotting but somehow that doesn't really matter as this is more about the characters in the book than the actual story. The characters are richly written and by the end of the book you do feel like you have known them all for a very long time indeed. Although it did set me wondering just why so many books seem to be currently set in Cornwall, I know it is a beautiful part of the British Isles but if all the fictional characters suddenyl appeared there the country would upend itself Saffy is an absolute joy to read about. She is a perfectly normal human being with prejudices of her own and forced family jollity appears to be one of them. All she wanted for her Christmas was to stay in her Singletons flat and party with her friends but her sister has other ideas. Ideas that mean she has to uproot herself and put on a party for the local single parents in her sister's absence. There is a lot of humour in the situations Saffy finds herself in and the writing is well observed and draws you in to the story. Even better there is a gay couple in the book who are treated as just another couple with their own set of problems. The main one being Robbie and Duncan split up just before the big day - I loved that they weren't caricatures but a real couple and it was refreshing to read in a mainstream chick lit book. Then there is single dad Logan and his bubbly, polar bear obsessed little girl Chloe. Single parenthood is painted with slightly rose tinted spectacles but many of the struggles of real life are shown which gave that extra touch of realism. When Chloe's mother comes back on the scene demanding to spend time with her daughter we get to feel Logan's worries about this and he doesn't always deal with things the "mature" way but it did feel like his reactions were normal and not ramped up for dramatic effect. A good strong read with a sprinkling of Christmas Magic.
annemariebookaholic More than 1 year ago
Simply put this book was amazing! My first time reading Karen King's work and it won't be my last. This book pulls at your heartstrings... Saffy is content with her life of work and friends. She's not really close to her sister but when her sister calls because of a family emergency while on holidays....Saffy helps out. Saffy needs to go to her sister's B&B to put on the annual Christmas party for members of the community who don't have much and they have children, usually single parents. With the help from a neighbour across the street a single dad. Saffy tries to get things ready for the party...unknowing that Saffy is about to confront her single life and wondering if it is really what she wants. Highly recommend
Claire140 More than 1 year ago
Saffy is a single girl living in her own flat and enjoying her single life with a great job and some close friends, when she gets a call from her older sister, Hannah. Hannah and her family (husband and twins) are stuck in Tenerife on holiday because the twins have caught measles with slight complications and can't fly. Hannah lives in Cornwall and hosts an annual Christmas dinner for the single parents and their children and so asks (guilt trips really) Saffy to cover for her. Saffy doesn't really want to do it initially but gets persuaded by her sister, so sets off for Cornwall to their B&B to sort everything out. Whilst there she meets her sister's neighbour, Logan and his young daughter, Chloe, and they eventually get closer, after a slightly rocky start. I did think Logan was quite judgemental about Saffy's single lifestyle, even though he'd been burnt by Cloe's Mum being a career person, but Saffy thought Logan was a bit bossy too. They eventually worked through their emotions and realised that they were actually both really nice people who quite liked each other. There was a lovely warm vibe throughout the book, nice and Christmassy, and I liked how it wasn't too rushed relationship-wise at the end. Very enjoyable.