So Damn Happy

So Damn Happy

by Aretha Franklin


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


So Damn Happy

Aretha Franklin's first album since 1998's A Rose Is Still a Rose -- which spawned the hit title track produced by Lauryn Hill -- finds the Queen of Soul in good spirits. The aptly named So Damn Happy features the infectious single "The Only Thing Missin'," which recalls the feel-good soul of the Staple Singers, and a guest appearance by the Queen of Hip-Hop Soul, Mary J. Blige, on two contemporary, upbeat tracks -- "Holdin' On" and "No Matter What." Although it sounds as if Franklin has been keeping abreast of the musical times, the soul of this preacher's daughter is still informed by a reverence for the gospel music of her youth. On the inspirational "Good News," she gives "glory to God in the highest," and she sings the secular love songs "You Are My Joy" and "Falling Out of Love" with a sense of spiritual devotion. With So Damn Happy, fans young and old will appreciate Franklin's ability to incorporate both classic and neo-soul flavor into her timeless music.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/16/2003
Label: Arista
UPC: 0828765017428
catalogNumber: 50174

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Aretha Franklin   Primary Artist,Piano,Background Vocals
Lew Soloff   Trumpet
Burt Bacharach   Rhythm
David Foster   Synthesizer Strings
Bobby Ross Avila   Guitar,Keyboards
Gloria Agostini   Harp
Ralphe Armstrong   Bass
Mary J. Blige   Background Vocals
Randy Brecker   Trumpet
Alfred Brown   Viola
Kenneth Burward-Hoy   Viola
William Bush   Keyboards
Gordon Chambers   Background Vocals
Robert Chausow   Violin
Brenda Corbett   Background Vocals
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion
Sandra Dance   Background Vocals
Barry J. Eastmond   Keyboards
Vernon D. Fails   fender rhodes
Winterton Garvey   Violin
Gerald Tarack   Violin
Joyce Hammann   Violin
Perry Hughes   Guitar
Regis Iandiorio   Violin
Birch Johnson   Trombone
Tony Kadleck   Trumpet
Karen Karlsrud   Violin
Olivia Koppell   Violin,Viola
Ricky Lawson   Drums
Jesse Levy   Cello
Cindy Mizelle   Background Vocals
Sharon Moe   French Horn
Kermit Moore   Cello
Tommy Morgan   Harmonica,Soloist
Eugene J. Moye   Cello
Nate Neblett   Drums
Keith O'Quinn   Trombone
Sheila Reinhold   Violin
Andy Stein   Violin
Neil Stubenhaus   Bass
Troy Taylor   Bass,Drums,Keyboards,Background Vocals,Multi Instruments
Roger Wendt   French Horn
Cenovia Cummins   Violin
Anthony Posk   Violin
Michael Hart Thompson   Guitar
Norman West   Synthesizer,Bass,Piano,Keyboards
Rick Williams   Guitar
Alexander Vselensky   Violin
Belinda Whitney   Violin
Adi Yeshaya   Strings,Conductor,Horn,Keyboards
Byung-Kook Kwak   Violin
Melodie   Hand Clapping
James "Big Jim" Wright   Keyboards
Darryl Houston   Organ
Ron "Amen-Ra" Lawrence   Keyboards,Multi Instruments
George Flynn   Trombone
Margeret Th. Hjaltested   Viola
Michael Baker   Strings,Horn
Isreal Chorberg   Violin
Myiia "Sunny" Davis   Background Vocals
Sara Divine   Background Vocals
B.J.   Hand Clapping
Leo Grinhauz   Cello
Susan Heerema   Violin
Regine Lambert   Hand Clapping
Kenya Lucas   Hand Clapping
Delant "Butta" Murphy   Hand Clapping
Shelly Ponder   Background Vocals
Mildred Scott   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Loudon Wainwright   Composer
Ray Lynch   Composer
Aretha Franklin   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Earl Klugh   Composer
Burt Bacharach   Composer,Producer,String Arrangements
Carolyn Franklin   Composer
Jerry Leiber   Composer
Aleese Simmons   Composer
Louis Alfred   Engineer
Mary J. Blige   Composer,Vocal Arrangements
William Bush   Arranger,drum programming
Gordon Chambers   Composer,Producer,Vocal Arrangements
Barry J. Eastmond   Arranger,Producer,Engineer
Jimmy Jam   Producer
Terry Lewis   Composer,Producer
Bruce Miller   Composer
Michael J. Powell   Engineer
L.A. Reid   Executive Producer
Rob Shrock   Synthesizer Arrangements
Allen Sides   Engineer
Troy Taylor   Composer,Programming,Producer,Vocal Editing
Philip White   Composer
Jed Leiber   Composer
James Harris   Composer
Norman West   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Rick Williams   Composer
Adi Yeshaya   Arranger,Horn Arrangements
Carl Robinson   Engineer
James "Big Jim" Wright   Composer
Iz   drum programming
Ron "Amen-Ra" Lawrence   Composer,Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Katrina Willis   Composer
Myiia "Sunny" Davis   Composer
Richard Thomas Jennings   Art Direction
Rowie Nomeri   Engineer
Steve Pageot   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews