So Delicious

So Delicious

by The Reverend Peyton's Big Damn BandThe Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band


$16.69 $16.99 Save 2% Current price is $16.69, Original price is $16.99. You Save 2%.


The Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band release their fifth album, So Delicious, on a revitalized Yazoo Records via Shanachie. Yazoo is a storied blues label and it's a good fit for the Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band, a trio from the backwoods of Indiana whose members desperately wish they hailed from the Delta. Such geographical displacement has a long history in American music -- in the back half of the 20th century, John Fogerty's swamp rock from San Francisco might be the best known -- so Peyton and his crew don't feel like charlatans: they're Americans who like to live in their ideal fantasy world. The funny thing about So Delicious is that for showing up on a blues label, it can rock pretty hard, something the clattering opening "Let's Jump a Train" makes plain, but the Big Damn Band aren't the Black Keys; they don't pump up and amplify their blues for arenas, but are happy to sit on a front porch during a hot Sunday afternoon. That's an intimate situation and, appropriately, the group slides some sweetness onto So Delicious, such as the gentle "Scream at the Night" and the ode to family "Pickin Pawpaws" (also quiet is the spectral solo slide guitar of "You're Not Rich," but that haunts instead of comforts). Still, the operative order of this record is a bit of full-tilt boogie and good times, an album that acknowledges there's nothing finer than pot roast and kisses from the one you love. In other words, this is big, burly blues whose heart belongs at home.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/17/2015
Label: Shanachie
UPC: 0016351630322
catalogNumber: 6303

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band   Primary Artist,Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals,Slide Guitar,Vocal Harmony,Group Member
Charlotte Miller   Background Vocals
Erin Miller   Background Vocals
Breezy Peyton   Percussion,Washboard,Vocal Harmony,Group Member
Cari Rae   Background Vocals,Harmony
Ben "Birddog" Bussell   Percussion,Drums,Vocal Harmony,Group Member
Norb Garvey   Background Vocals
Michelle Damrell   Background Vocals
Maxwell Joseph Senteney   Percussion
Mareana Piatt   Background Vocals
Lyla Minnich   Background Vocals,Children's Voices
Kenan Rainwater   Background Vocals
John Bowyer   Background Vocals
Jayme Hood   Background Vocals
Irie O'Shea   Background Vocals,Children's Voices
Ellie Rainwater   Background Vocals,Children's Voices
Zion Piatt   Background Vocals
Will Kersey   Background Vocals
Brown County All-Star Choir   Background Vocals
Akina Minnich   Background Vocals,Children's Voices
Agatha O'Brien   Background Vocals,Children's Voices
Adelynn Davis   Background Vocals,Children's Voices
Raise a Little Hell Children's Choir   Background Vocals
Quinn O'Brien   Background Vocals,Children's Voices
Marti Garvey   Background Vocals
Cari Ray   Background Vocals,Harmony

Technical Credits

Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band   Composer,Producer
Dan Figurelli   Engineer
Adelynn Davis   Producer
Sam O'Leary   Cover Art

Customer Reviews