Social Music

Social Music

by Jon Batiste & Stay HumanJon Batiste & Stay Human


$14.59 $14.99 Save 3% Current price is $14.59, Original price is $14.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The lively -- and seamless -- meld of ragtime and modern jazz, gospel, blues, contemporary pop, and funky New Orleans R&B put forth by Jon Batiste & Stay Human on their self-titled album is in ample evidence on the band's full-length Social Music. Batiste, alto saxophonist Eddie Barbash, drummer Joe Saylor, bassist Philip Kuehn, and tubaist Ibanda Ruhumbika are in joyous form on this 12-song set. The addition of the tuba replaces the double bass on certain tracks, including a deep, forceful reading of "St. James Infirmary," an uptempo version of John Hicks' glorious "Naima's Love Song," the modern gospel original "Let God Lead," the killer party jam "Express Yourself (Say Yes)," and the strolling, funky-butt NOLA piano groove on "It's Alright (Why You Gotta)." Field-recorded and vintage atmospheric sounds link the past with the present, exemplified by the sound of rain in the opening solo piano of "D-Flat Movement I," Jelly Roll Morton's spoken voice in Scott Joplin's "Maple Leaf Rag," and the slippery airy synth intro to "The Spirit Is with Us." The set closes with another piano solo offering, this time a gorgeously arranged version of John Stafford Smith's "Star Spangled Banner," letting us know what the tunes on this record all hold in common: they are elemental parts of the American musical patchwork.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/22/2013
Label: Razor & Tie
UPC: 0793018349826
catalogNumber: 83498
Rank: 3778

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jon Batiste & Stay Human   Primary Artist
Jelly Roll Morton   Vocals
Joe Saylor   Drums,Tambourine
Philip Kuehn   Double Bass
Jon Batiste   Synthesizer,Percussion,Piano,Vocals
Ibanda Ruhumbika   Trombone,Tuba
Eddie Barbash   Alto Saxophone,Vocals

Technical Credits

John Hicks   Composer
Scott Joplin   Composer
Irving Mills   Composer,Lyricist
Richard Hilton   Engineer
Frank Lopez   Engineer
John Stafford Smith   Composer
Kim Garner   Personal Manager
Yoichi Yamamoto   Engineer
Jennifer Sanon   Composer,Lyricist
Tobias Tumarkin   Management
Joe Saylor   Composer
Akihiro Nishimura   Engineer
Evan Manners   Engineer
Jeff Jones "the Jedi Master"   Producer
Steven Beer   Legal Advisor
Jon Batiste   Arranger,Composer,Programming,Lyricist,Producer,Liner Notes
Edgar Tejada   Engineer
Austin Bisnow   Composer
Ibanda Ruhumbika   Composer
Charles Prevost   Composer,Engineer
Celeste Diamond Li   Logo Design
Eddie Barbash   Composer
Matt McCorkle   Engineer
Lezzie Pappaillion   Engineer

Customer Reviews