Solbidyum Wars Saga Book 1: Battle of the New Orleans

Solbidyum Wars Saga Book 1: Battle of the New Orleans

by Dale C Musser

Paperback

$13.99
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, December 13

Overview

Thibodaux James Renwalt, or Tibby, as he was called by his friends, was just your typical Earthman. Recently discharged from his service in the United Stated Navy and working as an engineer for the city of New Orleans maintaining the pumps that kept the city dry, Tibby decides to spend some time at fishing hole in the swamp shown to him by his grandfather when he was a small boy. His trip turns out to be more than he expects when he discovers an ancient alien spaceship buried in the mud of the swamp. After entering the craft, Tibby accidentally engages an autopilot, causing the ship to take off with him aboard as it navigated through space to its preset destination. What follows are adventures beyond Tibby's wildest dreams, as the ship contains a cargo of the rarest and most valuable substance in the universe, Solbidyum. Tibby arrives in the Federation space and is greeted by a large star ship with thousands of people aboard. He soon discovers he is about to become the richest man in the universe, but not without considerable enemies trying to capture both him and the Solbidyum cargo. Tibby finds himself thrust into a role of hero and falls in love with a beautiful woman, but he soon finds that some of his decisions result in the loss of thousands of lives. Thus begins the Solbidyum Wars Saga with Book 1 -Battle of the New Orleans.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780615943916
Publisher: DM Books
Publication date: 10/20/2013
Series: Solbidyum Wars Saga , #1
Pages: 380
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.85(d)

About the Author

Dale Musser was born in 1944 in a small rural community of Pennsylvania. From 1967 until 2012 he was employed as a structural and piping designer in the industries of marine and offshore resources, cogeneration power and hard rock mining. His work at three shipyards and assignments with several engineering and naval architectural firms during his careers in Virginia, Texas, and Maine, took him to such places as London, U.K., Abu Dhabi, U.A.E., Scotland and Mexico. During this time, he was responsible for the design of reactor compartments for nuclear aircraft carriers and submarines for the U.S. Navy and the structural designs of numerous offshore semi-submersible oil rigs, tanker ships, supply boats, and other vessels and equipment used in the offshore industry. After the death of his wife in 1999, Mr. Musser changed careers and went to work in Arizona and Utah in the hard rock mining industry. He retired in Fall of 2012 and currently resides in Mesa, Arizona; however, his plans for the near future involve a move to New Mexico.
Dale enjoys rock hunting and lapidary work, gourmet cooking, writing, poetry, art, music, religions and philosophy in small doses, astronomy and the sciences in general, hiking, camping, the outdoors and the gifts that nature provides. Mr. Musser is a member of Mensa and remains an avid reader, having lost count of all the books he has read after 3,000.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Solbidyum Wars Saga Book 1: Battle of the New Orleans 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Ray Simmons for Readers' Favorite I really enjoyed Solbidyum Wars Saga Book 1: Battle of the New Orleans. It is good old-fashioned space opera in the tradition of Star Trek and Star Wars. It is the kind of science fiction that I began reading as a boy when I first discovered science fiction. It is a bigger than life adventure that begins on Earth in a swamp in Louisiana and quickly spreads to the far reaches of the galaxy. I have read hundreds of books like this. A few are really memorable and completely engage me while most fall far short of a really satisfying read. Dale Musser has crafted a winner here. For me, the key to the success of this novel is the protagonist. The story is told from the perspective of Thibodaux James Renwalt. “Tibby” is my kind of character. I could see the general direction the story was going and sometimes could even predict the twists and turns of the plot, but I kept reading because I wanted to hear it from the hero. I liked him and I liked the way he told his tale. He finds himself in some of the strangest circumstances, but he is cool even when he’s fainting at the realization of the enormity of what has happened to him. One of the most important things a novelist must do is create characters that readers care about. Dale Musser made me not only want to meet this character; I wanted to be his friend.