Some Touch of Madness

Some Touch of Madness

by Victoria Hamilton
Some Touch of Madness

Some Touch of Madness

by Victoria Hamilton

eBook

$4.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

A hushed-up murder sends Emmeline St. Germaine on a quest for justice . . .

Having chosen to go to a women's institution rather than live under her brother's oppressive thumb, Emmeline is second-guessing her decision. Her ulterior motive was to learn under what circumstances her sister died there six years ago, but the conditions are dismal, the treatment is harsh, and the women are restricted on all sides. When one of the women is murdered, Emmeline resolves to solve the crime despite the powerful owner's hostile insistence that the death was a suicide.

As she uncovers what little evidence there is to be found, Emmeline's investigation is thwarted at every turn by the increasingly severe restrictions on her movement—until she discovers that the mistreated help belowstairs are more than willing to reveal the institute's grim secrets. Determined to honor the victim's memory and follow the trail to the murderer wherever it goes, Emmeline will have to face down thuggish guards and abusive staff, fearful all the while of the price she'll pay to bring a killer to justice . . .

Praise for A Gentlewoman's Guide to Murder:

"[An] outstanding series launch. . . . Hamilton expertly balances the page-turning detection with the story of a hypocritical society where women, whether they are scullery maids or orphans, rarely get to make their own decisions." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Hamilton's novel will appeal to fans of Anne Perry's Charlotte and Pitt mysteries." —Booklist

"A simply riveting and compulsive page-turner of a read from cover to cover. A deftly scripted mystery with more twists and turns than a Coney Island roller coaster." —Midwest Book Review


Related collections and offers

Product Details

BN ID: 2940185602973
Publisher: Beyond the Page Publishing
Publication date: 11/08/2022
Series: A Gentlewoman's Guide to Murder , #2
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: eBook
Sales rank: 95,420
File size: 572 KB

About the Author

Victoria Hamilton is the pseudonym of nationally bestselling romance author Donna Lea Simpson. Victoria is the bestselling author of four mystery series, the Lady Anne Addison Mysteries, the Vintage Kitchen Mysteries, the Merry Muffin Mysteries, and A Gentlewoman’s Guide to Murder. Visit her website at victoriahamiltonmysteries.com.

Customer Reviews