Songs About Jane [20th Anniversary Edition]

Songs About Jane [20th Anniversary Edition]

by Maroon 5

CD(Anniversary Edition)

$18.89 $19.99 Save 6% Current price is $18.89, Original price is $19.99. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 12


Maroon 5 have certainly come a long way since their days in the indie outfit Kara's Flowers. After the band's demise in 1999, frontman Adam Levine surrounded himself with New York City's urban hip-hop culture and found a new musical calling. Maroon 5 were born and their debut album, Songs About Jane, illustrates an impressive rebirth. It's groovy in spots, offering bluesy funk on "Shiver" and a catchy, soulful disposition on "Harder to Breathe." "Must Get Out" slows things down with its dreamy lyrical story, and Levine is a vocal dead ringer for Men at Work's Colin Hay. Don't wince -- it works brilliantly. Songs About Jane is love-drunk on what makes Maroon 5 tick as a band. They're not as glossy as the Phantom Planet darlings; they've got grit and a sexy strut, personally and musically. It's much too slick to cross over commercially in 2002, but it's good enough for the pop kids to take notice. [Songs About Jane's 20th Anniversary Edition contains a bonus disc with demo versions of every one of the album's 12 songs, plus demos of four non-LP songs -- including the international B-side "Ragdoll" -- and an alternate mix of "The Sun."]

Product Details

Release Date: 06/05/2012
Label: A&M / Octone
UPC: 0602537038541
catalogNumber: 001689402
Rank: 53283

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Maroon 5   Primary Artist
Adam Levine   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Jesse Carmichael   Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
Mickey Madden   Bass,Group Member
Ryan Dusick   Drums,Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
James Valentine   Guitar,Group Member
Mystic   Background Vocals
Rashida Jones   Background Vocals
Mark K. Schoenecker   Horn

Technical Credits

Adam Harrison   Management
Nathaniel Kunkel   Producer
Russ Kunkel   Producer
John O'Brien   Programming
Matt Wallace   Producer
Mark Endert   Additional Production
Mike Landolt   Engineer
Adam Levine   Composer
Gregg Gordon   Illustrations
Chris Maguire   Management
Cey Adams   Art Direction
Sam Farrar   Programming,Producer
Jesse Carmichael   Composer
Perry Margouleff   Producer
Jason Lader   Producer
Jordan Feldstein   Management
Jon O'Brien   Programming
Bruce Smith   Programming

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews