Sonic Rebellion: Alternative Classical Collection

Sonic Rebellion: Alternative Classical Collection


$3.79 $3.99 Save 5% Current price is $3.79, Original price is $3.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, February 21

Product Details

Release Date: 09/25/2007
Label: Naxos
UPC: 0747313076079
catalogNumber: 8570760
Rank: 171416


  1. Symphony No. 4 ("Heroes"), for orchestra: Neuköln
  2. Threnody (for the Victims of Hiroshima), for 52 strings
  3. Toccata for violin & piano
  4. Sonatas and Interludes, for prepared piano: First Interlude
  5. Fünf Nachtstücke, for violin & piano: 1. Elegie
  6. Quattro Pezzi su una nota sola (Four Pieces on Only One Note), for 25 musicians: 1.
  7. In C, for unspecified performers: [Excerpt]
  8. String Quartet No 2
  9. Déserts for brass, percussion, piano & tape: Beginning
  10. Songs, Drones and Refrains of Death, for baritone, electric guitar & double bass, amplified piano & harpsichord, & 2 percissionists: Death Drone 2
  11. Bagatelles (6) for wind quintet: Allegro grazioso
  12. Silenzio, pieces (5) for bayan, violin & cello: II
  13. Beta, electronic work
  14. Shaker Loops, for 7 strings or string orchestra: A Final Shaking
  15. Piano Concerto No.1
  16. Fratres, for strings & percussion

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sonic Rebellion: Alternative Classical Collection 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Even people who like classical music tend to run screaming when they hear names like Penderecki, Ligeti and Cage. But it’s hard to blame them. The majority of concert halls and classical music stations play it safe, programming little but such familiar composers as Bach, Beethoven, Mozart, etc. Nothing wrong with those gentlemen, but anyone looking for something a little more experimental is pretty much on their own. They couldn’t do better than check out this sampler of alternative classical music that’s guaranteed to blast some fresh sounds into complacent ears. It features no less than 16 modern composers of intimidating reputation, yet adventurous listeners will be surprised at how accessible and engaging their music can be. All of the pieces on this disc are easily digestible, even for those unfamiliar with music that takes unusual melodic twists and turns. Space limitations prevent listing all the tracks, but I have to call out Philip Glass’ “Heroes Symphony,” based on the Bowie/ Eno recording, for its lush, atmospheric tonalities. Likewise Penderecki’s “Threnody for the Victims of Hiroshima,” one of the darkest, yet most moving pieces of music ever written. Jørgen Plaetner’s “Beta” is a wild electronic soundscape from some dark, unfathomable id, while Arvo Pärt’s “Fratres for Strings & Percussion” exudes hypnotic serenity. All of the compositions explore strange and compelling sound textures, and while a fair share of them veer into atonality, they do so in surprisingly lyrical fashion. For my money (heck, this CD costs less than a fancy Starbucks drink), this is the classical music bargain of the year.