Pub. Date:
Soul: The Collection

Soul: The Collection


$16.41 $16.99 Save 3% Current price is $16.41, Original price is $16.99. You Save 3%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 23


Rhino's 60-track Soul: The Collection is a budget compilation that compiles many of the best-known '60s and early-'70s R&B hits. It's presented cheaply, but it makes for an affordable way to dive into the era with nothing in the way of re-recordings or second-rate live material. Many of the selections are drawn from the Stax and Atlantic catalogs. Among the enduring classics are Aretha Franklin's "Respect," Wilson Pickett's "In the Midnight Hour," Ben E. King's "Stand by Me," Booker T. & the MG's' "Green Onions," the Spinners' "I'll Be Around," and Dionne Warwick's "Walk on By."

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 11/06/2012
Label: Warner Bros Uk
UPC: 5053105471751
catalogNumber: 0547175
Rank: 118230


Disc 1

  1. Respect
  2. In the Midnight Hour
  3. (Sittin' On) the Dock of the Bay
  4. Soul Finger
  5. Poison Ivy
  6. What'd I Say
  7. Last Night
  8. Hold On! I'm Comin'
  9. The Dark End of the Street
  10. Angel Baby (Don't You Ever Leave Me)
  11. Tighten Up
  12. Memphis Soul Stew
  13. I'll Be Around
  14. Time
  15. The Ghetto
  16. If You Need Me
  17. Some Kind of Wonderful
  18. Dear Lover
  19. I'm Gonna Run Away From You
  20. Clean Up Woman

Disc 2

  1. Soul Man
  2. Sweet Soul Music
  3. Knock On Wood
  4. Mustang Sally
  5. Cool Jerk
  6. Stupidity
  7. Blue On Green
  8. Think
  9. That's How It Feels
  10. Candy
  11. Just One Look
  12. Looking For a Fox
  13. Save the Last Dance For Me
  14. Comin' Home Baby
  15. What a Man
  16. Hard To Handle
  17. Thin Line Between Love and Hate
  18. What is Soul?
  19. Mojo Hannah
  20. What'cha Gonna Do About It?

Disc 3

  1. Stand By Me
  2. When a Man Loves a Woman
  3. I Say a Little Prayer
  4. Everybody Needs Somebody To Love
  5. Tramp
  6. Groovy Kind of Love
  7. As Long As I've Got You
  8. Land of 1000 Dances
  9. Supernatural Thing
  10. It's All Right Now
  11. Boot-Leg
  12. The Love of My Woman
  13. Seesaw
  14. Green Onions
  15. Under the Boardwalk
  16. Your Turn To Cry
  17. Bertha Butt Encounters Vadar
  18. Love Won't Let Me Wait
  19. Night Time is the Right Time
  20. Walk On By

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Sam Cooke   Composer
Steve Cropper   Composer
Ben E. King   Composer
Otis Redding   Composer
Percy Sledge   Composer
Bobby Womack   Composer
Burt Bacharach   Composer
Jerry Leiber   Composer
Mar-Keys   Composer
Doc Pomus   Composer
Mike Stoller   Composer
Al Jackson   Composer
Clarence Reid   Composer
Willie Clarke   Composer
McCracklin   Composer
Ousley   Composer
Dorough   Composer
Pickett   Composer
Pruitt   Composer
Hutson   Composer
Garvin   Composer
Conley   Composer

Customer Reviews