by Huey Lewis & the NewsHuey Lewis & the News


$15.30 $15.99 Save 4% Current price is $15.3, Original price is $15.99. You Save 4%.


Soulsville U.S.A. was the Memphis neighborhood where the great Stax label was located during the '60s and '70s, so it only makes sense that Huey Lewis & the News decided to call their album-length salute to Stax Soulsville, saluting a place that has, some 40 years later, turned into a state of mind. The group headed to Memphis to cut this 14-track album but since the Stax studio has long since shuttered, they went to Ardent, yet another legendary Memphis studio, to record with producer Jim Gaines, who helmed the band's big '80s hits Sports and Fore! Not surprisingly, Soulsville winds up like a bunch of old friends having fun revisiting their favorite tunes. It's an unhurried, affectionate tribute, the News riding grooves that are considerably cleaner than the classic Stax sides they love so much, but they nevertheless wind up with a warm, soulful vibe. They don't reinvent or reinterpret these songs but stay true to the spirit of Stax, and what makes the album successful is that Huey Lewis & the News don't choose the obvious tunes (only the Staple Singers' "Respect Yourself" was a genuine crossover smash); they cherry-pick their favorite sides from the label's deep catalog. It's clear that the bandmembers love this music, and their love is infectious, making this a nice, relaxed good time.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/02/2010
Label: W.o.w. Records
UPC: 0634457536128
catalogNumber: 1001

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Huey Lewis & the News   Primary Artist
Bill Gibson   Percussion,Drums,Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
Larry Batiste   Background Vocals
Bertram Brown   Background Vocals
Stef Burns   Guitar,Group Member
Johnny Colla   Percussion,Tenor Saxophone,Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
Sandy Griffith   Background Vocals
Sean Hopper   Keyboards,Group Member
Jackie Johnson   Background Vocals
Huey Lewis   Harmonica,Vocals,Group Member
Marvin McFadden   Trumpet,Group Member
Dorothy Morrison   Vocals
John Pierce   Bass,Group Member
Claytoven Richardson   Background Vocals
Rob Sudduth   Tenor Saxophone,Group Member
John Gove   Trombone
Bill Hinds   Guitar,Group Member
Rick Steff   Piano
Bryan Dyer   Background Vocals
Reba Russell   Background Vocals
Johnny Bamont   Baritone Saxophone,Group Member
Daunielle "Pie" Hill   Background Vocals
Ashling Cole   Background Vocals
Niko Ellison   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Solomon Burke   Composer
Steve Cropper   Composer
Wilson Pickett   Composer
Otis Redding   Composer
Joe Tex   Composer
Bob Brown   Executive Producer
Johnny Colla   Arranger,Director,Engineer
Jim Gaines   Producer,Engineer
Isaac Hayes   Composer
Huey Lewis   Liner Notes
Dorothy Morrison   Duet
Ed Tuton   Composer
Ralph Arista   Guitar Techician
Huey Lewis & the News   Producer
Lamar Sorrento   Cover Art
Curry Weber   Engineer,Remixing
Emmanuel "Manu" Goodwin   Monitor Engineer
Vadim Canby   Engineer
R. Turner   Composer
Johnny Bellmon   Composer
Jerry Akines   Composer
Bruce Melick   Merchandising
Ann Pfeffer   Stage Sound
Lol Halsey   Tour Manager
Jerry Pfeffer   Stage Sound
Robb Davenport   Drum Technician

Customer Reviews