Soundboy Rock

Soundboy Rock

by Groove Armada

CD(Canadian Import)

$16.14 $16.99 Save 5% Current price is $16.14, Original price is $16.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Soundboy Rock

Groove Armada survived longer than most in the downbeat scene because they were able to move beyond the usual sample-plus-beats formula that so quickly lost its currency by the end of the '90s. Andy Cato and Tom Findlay could create tracks with or without samples, and their production skills put them in close company with the best in the business (Air, DJ Shadow). (They even used a Jay-Z beat better than, and previous to, its commercial-rap appearance -- on The Black Album's "What More Can I Say" -- and hired Jeru the Damaja to give it a better feature.) As before, the duo trawls British clubland of the past 20 years with surprisingly great results, spanning grime features like "Get Down" (an excellent single) and housey, digitalistic productions on a pair of Candi Staton features that are worthy of Massive Attack themselves. Prince gets extra props, with the funk extravaganza "The Girls Say" (featuring the great Rhymefest) and a refreshing look at mid-'80s neo-psych with the single "Song 4 Mutya (Out of Control)." Critics could (and would) say that there's little here that tells you what Groove Armada sound like (aside from their influences), but the productions are perfect, the hooks are miles-wide, and most of the vocal features turn out well.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/12/2007
Label: Sony Bmg Europe
UPC: 0886970768528
catalogNumber: 707685
Rank: 264915

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Groove Armada   Primary Artist
Candi Staton   Vocals
Tony Allen   Drums
Tim Fuller   Background Vocals
Tim Vine   Keyboards
Jeb Loy Nichols   Vocals
Patrick Dawes   Percussion
Red Rat   Background Vocals
Sarah Richardson   Background Vocals
Andy Cato   Bass,Guitar,Bass Guitar
Tim Hutton   Guitar,Horn,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Joanne Morris   Background Vocals
Simon Lord   Vocals
Richard Archer   Melodica
Jack Splash   Vocals
Alan Donohoe   Vocals
Tony Allen   Drums
Jack McManus   Vocals
Angela Botha   Background Vocals
Faye Donaldson   Background Vocals
Ilana Rakhorst   Background Vocals
Halima Khatun   Background Vocals
Hayley Rowland   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Candi Staton   Composer
Tommy Paterson   Producer,Engineer
Mike Daniels   Composer
Andy Cato   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Tim Hutton   Composer
Tom Findlay   Producer,Engineer
Karen Ann Poole   Composer
Dan Hewson   String Arrangements
Simon Lord   Composer
Jack Splash   Composer
Alan Donohoe   Composer
Jack McManus   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews