Sounds and Silence

Sounds and Silence

by Arvo Pärt


$16.06 $18.99 Save 15% Current price is $16.06, Original price is $18.99. You Save 15%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 18  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Sounds and Silence

Over a period of five years, Swiss directors Norbert Wiedmer and Peter Guyer documented the activity of legendary producer Manfred Eicher, the founder and driving force behind ECM Records, whose advocacy of progressive jazz and of classical composers like Arvo Pärt, Meredith Monk, Valentin Silvestrov, and György Kurtág changed the landscape of contemporary music in the late 20th and early 21st centuries. The film Sounds and Silence: Travels with Manfred Eicher was released in 2009 and this 2011 soundtrack album is made up largely of tracks taken from previously released ECM albums that Eicher produced, some from as early as 1980. Most of the pieces are low-key and understated and feature chamber ensembles, although there are several piano tracks and several featuring orchestra or chorus. The album has a mix of selections from ECM's classical and jazz repertoire, and from the label's specialty, the many pieces that lie somewhere in between the two. The artists include pianist Keith Jarrett, saxophonists Jan Garbarek and Gianluigi Trovesi, violist Kim Kashkashian, the duo of bandoneon player Dino Saluzzi and cellist Anja Lechner, and the Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir led by Tonu Kaljuste. The album offers a good sampling of ECM's offerings (although it steers clear of the more avant-garde music) and should whet listeners' appetites for seeking out the releases from which these tracks were taken.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/13/2011
Label: Ecm Records
UPC: 0602527700809
catalogNumber: 001593302
Rank: 125571

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Arvo Pärt   Primary Artist
Anouar Brahem   Oud
Jan Garbarek   Tenor Saxophone
Keith Jarrett   Piano
Eleni Karaindrou   Piano
Kim Kashkashian   Viola
Dino Saluzzi   Bandoneon
Gianluigi Trovesi   Alto Saxophone
François Couturier   Piano
Jean-Louis Matinier   Accordion
Marilyn Mazur   Percussion
Rolf Lislevand   Baroque Guitar,Archlute
Tõnu Kaljuste   Conductor
Andi Pupato   Percussion
Kaspar Rast   Drums
Pedro Estevan   Percussion
Anja Lechner   Cello
Tallinn Chamber Orchestra   Performing Ensemble
Arianna Savall   Vocals
Nik Bärtsch   Piano
Björn Meyer   Bass
Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir   Choir, Chorus
Alexandros Myrat   Conductor
Camerata Orchestra   Performing Ensemble
Sha   Bass Clarinet
Savino Acquaviva   Conductor
Filarmonica Mousiké   Performing Ensemble

Technical Credits

Johannes Hieronymus Kapsberger   Composer
Arvo Pärt   Composer
Giacomo Puccini   Composer,Original Material
Anouar Brahem   Composer
Eleni Karaindrou   Composer
Dino Saluzzi   Composer
Manfred Eicher   Producer
Jan Erik Kongshaug   Engineer
Marilyn Mazur   Composer
Martin Wieland   Engineer
Georges I. Gurdjieff   Composer
Rolf Lislevand   Composer
Bjarne Hansen   Engineer
Nikos Espialidis   Engineering
Stefano Amerio   Engineer
Traditional   Composer
Gérard De Haro   Engineer
Markus Heiland   Engineer
Thomas de Hartmann   Composer
Nik Bärtsch   Composer
Natale Arnoldi   Arranger,Composer,Engineer
Teije van Geest   Engineer
Vicente Greco   Composer
Vincente Greco   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews