Southern Presbyterian Leaders

Southern Presbyterian Leaders

by Henry Alexander White


$25.88 $26.99 Save 4% Current price is $25.88, Original price is $26.99. You Save 4%.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780851517957
Publisher: Banner of Truth
Publication date: 12/28/2000
Pages: 512
Product dimensions: 5.79(w) x 8.86(h) x 1.42(d)

Table of Contents

Part ISouthern Presbyterian Leaders of the Colonial Period 1683-1774
Chapter I.Francis Makemie Organizes the First American Presbytery9
Chapter II.Early Scots and Huguenots in the Carolinas and Virginia22
Chapter III.The Coming of the Scots to the American Colonies28
Chapter IV.John Craig, First Pastor in the Western Part of Virginia32
Chapter V.Old Side and New Side Parties Among the Presbyterians36
Chapter VI.John Blair and John Brown in the Southern Part of the Valley of Virginia38
Chapter VII.William Robinson and John Roan in the Piedmont Section of Virginia41
Chapter VIII.Samuel Davies Founds the Hanover Presbytery44
Chapter IX.David Rice and James Waddell in the Northern and Western Parts of Virginia58
Chapter X.Hugh McAden's Journey Through Virginia and the Carolinas65
Chapter XI.Alexander Craighead and the Seven Churches of Mecklenburg in North Carolina73
Chapter XII.John Witherspoon, of the Lower Santee River, and James Campbell, of the Upper Cape Fear River79
Chapter XIII.Archibald Simpson, Evangelist in the Region Between Charles Town and Savannah86
Chapter XIV.William Richardson of the Waxhaws in South Carolina90
Chapter XV.Henry Patillo and David Caldwell Organize the Presbytery of Orange in the Carolinas95
Chapter XVI.Charles Cummings and Samuel Doak on the Holston River100
Part IISouthern Presbyterian Leaders During the American Revolution 1774-1789
Chapter XVII.The Hanover Presbytery Leads the Fight in Behalf of Freedom in Religion104
Chapter XVIII.Presbyterian Riflemen Win the Battle of Point Pleasant (1774)113
Chapter XIX.The Mountain Men of Virginia and North Carolina Lead the Way to Independence116
Chapter XX.William Graham, Founder of the Liberty Hall Academy in Virginia124
Chapter XXI.Samuel Stanhope Smith, John Blair Smith and Hampden Sidney College140
Chapter XXII.The Winning of the Battle at King's Mountain144
Chapter XXIII.Presbyterian Riflemen, Led by Francis Marion, Assail the British in the Eastern Parts of South Carolina154
Chapter XXIV.The Cowpens and Guilford Courthouse158
Chapter XXV.The Winning of the Fight for Religious Freedom165
Chapter XXVI.Revivals of Religion that Followed the War of the Revolution171
Part IIISouthern Presbyterian Leaders 1789-1861
Chapter XXVII.Archibald Alexander, President of Hampden-Sidney College, and First Teacher of Theology in Princeton Seminary181
Chapter XXVIII.Moses Hoge, President of the College and Teacher of Theology at Hampden-Sidney, in Virginia193
Chapter XXIX.Moses Waddell and the Willington Academy in South Carolina199
Chapter XXX.Joseph Caldwell and the University of North Carolina203
Chapter XXXI.Presbyterians in Kentucky and the Revival of 1800206
Chapter XXXII.John Holt Rice and the Organization of Union Theological Seminary in Virginia212
Chapter XXXIII.George Addison Baxter Extends the Work of Washington College Among the People of the South and Southwest221
Chapter XXXVI.A Journey Among the Churches of the Synod of Virginia in the Year 1800232
Chapter XXXV.A Journey Among the Churches of the Carolinas and Georgia and the Southwest in the Year 1800239
Chapter XXXVI.Thomas Goulding, George Howe and Aaron W. Leland, Founders of Columbia Theological Seminary253
Chapter XXXVII.John Forrest and Thomas Smyth, Pastors in Charleston, South Carolina261
Chapter XXXVIII.Robert Hall Morrison Founds Davidson College267
Chapter XXXIX.Daniel Baker, Evangelist of the South and Southwest273
Chapter XL.John McElhenny, the Apostle of Western Virginia280
Chapter XLI.William Swan Plumer, Preacher and Teacher of the Word286
Chapter XLII.Charles Colcock Jones, John B. Adger and John L. Girardeau293
Chapter XLIII.James Henley Thornwell as Preacher and Teacher303
Part IVSouthern Presbyterian Leaders Since 1861
Chapter XLIV.James H. Thornwell Sets Forth the Principles of the Southern Presbyterians322
Chapter XLV.A Journey Among the Southern Churches During the War Between the North and the South330
Chapter XLVI.A Journey Among the Churches of Kentucky and Missouri348
Chapter XLVII.Benjamin Morgan Palmer359
Chapter XLVIII.Robert Lewis Dabney382
Chapter XLIX.John Leighton Wilson394
Chapter L.Jacob Henry Smith409
Chapter LI.Stuart Robinson414
Chapter LII.John Newton Waddel421
Chapter LIII.Moses Drury Hoge426
Chapter LIV.Stonewall Jackson, D. H. Hill and Thomas R. R. Cobb as Representatives of Southern Presbyterian Elders and Deacons446
Chapter LV.Some Presbyterian Leaders of Our Own Time454
Principal Sources
Church Histories463
Collected Works464
General Histories465
Historical Collections465
Local Histories465
Records of Church Courts467
Special Accounts467

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews