Southern Roots & Branches (Yesterday & Today)

Southern Roots & Branches (Yesterday & Today)

by Marty Raybon


$14.25 $14.99 Save 5% Current price is $14.25, Original price is $14.99. You Save 5%.

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


Southern Roots & Branches (Yesterday & Today)

During his years as lead singer for Shenandoah, Marty Raybon gave voice to the traditional side of country when many other acts were chasing the sound of country-rock looking for crossover success. Shenandoah stayed close to the sound of old-time country music, and since he left the band and went out on his own, Raybon has stayed on the traditional side of the street. This album could be marketed as roots music just as easily as it could be called bluegrass, with Raybon's down-home style shining throughout. The album is divided between familiar hits and newer tunes, all played perfectly by a studio band of A-list musicians. There are two Bill Monroe tunes: "Rocky Road Blues" is given a straightforward midtempo performance, while "White House Blues" is played at a lightning-fast tempo and showcases the high end of Raybon's vocals and the blistering fretwork of the band. Flatt & Scruggs' "Down the Road" is taken at a rolling, bouncy tempo and features fine lead guitar by Bryan Sutton. Raybon's "Get Up in Jesus' Name" is a spiritual that urges us to do our best in troubled times, while "Big Pain" is a tale of lost love that Raybon delivers with a raw vocal that's close to a wail of agony. He also reprises several Shenandoah hits in fine acoustic arrangements, including "Next to You, Next to Me," which gets a jaunty treatment that brings to mind an early Hank Williams session, and "Ghost in This House," which still sounds shattered and hopeless in the tradition of all desperate country songs of lost love.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/10/2012
Label: Rural Rhythm
UPC: 0732351109728
catalogNumber: 1097

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Marty Raybon   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocal Harmony
Paul Franklin   Fiddle
Rob Ickes   Dobro
Terry Smith   Bass
Tim Stafford   Guitar
Mark Fain   Bass
Paul Brewster   Vocal Harmony
Bryan Sutton   Guitar,Mandolin,Lead
Tim Raybon   Vocal Harmony
Ashby Frank   Mandolin
David Talbot   Banjo
Scott Napier   Mandolin
Kenny Smith   Guitar
Shad Cobb   Fiddle
Glenn Harrell   Fiddle,Vocal Harmony
Edgar Loudermilk   Bass,Vocal Harmony
Justin Moses   Banjo,Dobro,Fiddle,Mandolin
Donnie Allen   Guitar
Matt Leadbetter   Dobro
Chris Robbins   Percussion
Patton Wages   Banjo
Lewell Molen   Bass
Craig Flecher   Fiddle

Technical Credits

Lester Flatt   Composer
Bill Monroe   Composer
Earl Scruggs   Composer
Rodney Crowell   Composer
Squire Parsons   Composer
Robert Ellis Orrall   Composer
Buck White   Composer
Curtis Wright   Composer
Tim Austin   Engineer
Brent King   Engineer
Jimmy Martin   Composer
Hugh Prestwood   Composer
Marty Raybon   Composer,Producer
Paul Williams   Composer
Jerry Salley   Composer
John Fountain   Composer
Alan Schulman   Engineer
Melissa Peirce   Composer
Michael A. Curtis   Composer
Mike Curtis   Engineer
Lewell Molen   Engineer
Sammy Passamano   Radio Consultant
Billy Droze   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews