Souvenir

Souvenir

by Therese Fowler
4.2 34

Paperback(Reprint)

$9.54 $14.00 Save 32% Current price is $9.54, Original price is $14. You Save 32%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, January 24 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Souvenir 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
BANCHEE_READS More than 1 year ago
It was a wonderful read and I truly enjoyed the characters. This book and these characters will stay with me for a long time. Not wanting to ruin the ending for the reader I'll say it was believable and touching. The characters in the story, having gone full circle, ended up in the places in life that one would imagine events such as these would have led them. Having already read Fowler's follow-up Reunion, which I enjoyed as well, I can say unequivocally that I enjoyed this story far more. It was unpredictably heartfelt and poignant. Though not a novel of high-spirits and frivolity I would strongly encourage a reader to pick Souvenir up and read it. It was just that good.
Magic36 More than 1 year ago
Believable, thought provoking, and insightful. Hard to put it down or have it end. I'm going to checkout Reunion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Based on the summary I thought I would really love this book, but because the summary stated that it had "a spectacular finish, shocking the reader and turning the entire story on its head", I was anticipating a shocking finish. I figured out the "twist" within the first chapter. If the summary had not included those statements I would have enjoyed and recommended this book. Sadly I was disappointed!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jasmine Carlton More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book. It took me only a few days to read. I'm looking forward to reading more by this author. I'd love a sequel! This novel really got into my heart and that's one of the resons I love to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AllyD25 More than 1 year ago
This is a very good story, well written. I just don't believe any husband would allow or consent that the wife will reunite with the past beau even in the most terminal stage of a disease, at least not the way it happened in this book. It is very enlightening though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was absolutley fabulous. It had me crying before I was even half way through the book. The plot is like no other, and the way the story is written you feel like you are there with the characters. I had to read through the night to finish the book, just couldn't put it down. The author will keep you guessing as to what will happen next. Make sure to have your kleenexes handy.
Amy_Y More than 1 year ago
I just finished the last page of this book about 5 minutes ago after not being able to put it down for 2 hours. I felt so compelled to give this book a GREAT and supportive review. This book starts at one point and you would never guess how it ends. The story is full of wonderful characters, some having their own conflicts/plots going on, but all appropriately weave into the main character's plot, Meg. The book reveals an unexpected family secret that will blow you away and hit every one of your emotions from utter disbelief to sadness to anger. Hold tissues close by because this story will share a beautiful story about family bonds, a mother-teenage daughter relationship, a marriage, a love story. The pacing of this book fast, but it's melodic so I would recommend this as a rainy day or beach read so you can really get lost in the story. It's incredible!
Galleysmith More than 1 year ago
Souvenir is wonderfully written and vivid. The settings are immaculately descriptive and add vibrancy to a subject that is otherwise stark and at times somewhat depressing. She's given life to her character's surroundings in a way that allows the reader to feel as if they are sitting in Carson's old guesthouse. I could almost smell the citrus in the air as he and his father navigated through the groves bonding and working the land. Even more compelling is the strong and compassionate voice Fowler has given to Meg as she endures the realization that she has gotten the most out of her life that she can ever expect. But then, the author shifts gears so gradually that the reader barely feels Meg's transition from trapped and passive bystander in life to proactive live each moment like it's your last woman on a mission. As part of that shift in focus the portrayal of relationships is another very strong element throughout the entire novel. The author does well to show the strong contrast between the relationships Meg holds with her parents and siblings, then with her husband and daughter, and then finally with the man she considers her soul mate even though they are no longer together. What I held most dear is how Fowler used those around her to better develop Meg's character. Showing her to be the glue that held everything together. Not wanting to ruin the ending for the reader I'll say it was believable and touching. The characters in the story, having gone full circle, ended up in the places in life that one would imagine events such as these would have led them. Having already read Fowler's follow-up Reunion, which I enjoyed as well, I can say unequivocally that I enjoyed this story far more. It was unpredictably heartfelt and poignant. Though not a novel of high-spirits and frivolity I would strongly encourage a reader to pick Souvenir up and read it. It was just that good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I felt that the characters were not developed enough to be believable. A real disappointment overall
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had no idea that when I bought this book I would need so many tissues. It's a little slow at the beginning while the author is character building and plot setting, but once it gets going it is so very hard to put this book down! I stayed up two nights in a row until 3 a.m. because I could not make myself stop reading! I don't want to give anything away about this book. I only want to say how this author made me actually FEEL for these characters. I felt as thought I knew them in real life. Great read. Kudos to this author as I read this was her first novel! Congrats - it's amazing!
GrkDina31 More than 1 year ago
This book was so amazing, I could not put it down!- Some parts of the story reminded me of the love that takes place in " The Notebook"... It is a touching story about the choices we make in our lives and how no matter where life leads us we never forget our first & only love.......
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book touches on a subject not dealt with very often-handling a person's imminent death and relationships with family members. I look forward to reading more of Ms. Fowlers future books.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
SOUVENIR is a heart-wrenching novel in the vein of Nicholas Sparks' THE NOTEBOOK and A WALK TO REMEMBER.

It is a novel about lost love, the possibility of second chances, and the fate that brings us all together.

Meg is a doctor with a sixteen-year-old daughter, and a businessman husband. Things seem to be normal in her life; she's stable at home, and she loves her job. However, she's still holding on to many secrets from her past, including a mistake that haunts her every day.

After a shocking change in her life, she decides to come to terms with her regrets, and decide what she wants in the future.

SOUVENIR is a tearjerker that is very realistic in its tale of true love and heartbreak. It is very well-written, and stays with you long after the first reading. This title will no doubt become a classic in future years because of its touching story and meaningful characters.