Sovereign Ground

Sovereign Ground

by Hilarey Johnson
Sovereign Ground

Sovereign Ground

by Hilarey Johnson



Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Are the footsteps getting louder?

A gripping tale of a young girl romanced by two worlds. In one there is the allure of power, and in the other, the love of someone who'd value her for more than her body.

A ward of the state at nine years old, Sparrow finds herself living with her half brother and the sister-in-law who didn't want her—or the curse she came with.

She drops out of high school just before graduation, desperate for a way to support herself before she turns eighteen. Sparrow accepts a job bussing tables at a bar and ends up on stage before the night ends.

The money is irresistible when it brings the possibility of controlling her future. But before long, she witnesses a dancer strangled and loses every dime she's earned. She tries to find a simpler job, but no opportunity can outrun the curse. Now, she can hear the footsteps behind her, too.

In attempt to grasp fleeting hope, she decides to confront the one who cursed her in the first place—her grandfather.

"Hilarey Johnson doesn't settle for easy stereotypes. Sovereign Ground is a tale of clashing cultures and competing fears. In the middle of the action are the voices of those lost in human trafficking. This tale and those voices should not be ignored."
Sovereign Ground is the first book in the Breaking Bonds series. Each book stands alone, and can be read independently. If you want the recommended reader experience–they happen chronologically in this order:

Book #1: Sovereign Ground
Book #2: Heart of Petra
Book #3: Sworn to the Desert
Sovereign Ground Awards
Top 10 Idaho Fiction, Idaho Author Awards 2015
First Place, General Fiction, Idaho Author Awards, 2015
Best Fiction eBook, Idaho Author Awards 2015
Christian Writers Guild Operation First Novel Semifinalist 2013

Related collections and offers

Product Details

BN ID: 2940161075876
Publisher: Hilarey Johnson
Publication date: 09/18/2019
Series: Breaking Bonds , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: eBook
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Hilarey Johnson grew up hearing that she would be a good student if she could get her head out of the clouds. Her daydreaming still makes it possible to get lost driving anywhere. She loves characters with a hidden or unknown worth who rise up to claim their identity. She writes redemptive stories from Idaho and travels in the Pacific Northwest with her husband. Someday Hilarey hopes to time travel.

Customer Reviews