Spanks for the Memories [Bonus Tracks]

Spanks for the Memories [Bonus Tracks]

by Asylum Street Spankers


$13.95 $15.99 Save 13% Current price is $13.95, Original price is $15.99. You Save 13%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, May 2 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Spanks for the Memories [Bonus Tracks]

Sometimes there's a thin line between tribute and parody, and Austin's acoustic Asylum Street Spankers walk that line with more grace and dignity than most. On their debut album, the Austin-based collective borrows classic jug band instrumentation, vocal mannerisms, and in some cases even repertoire, imbuing songs like Lucille Bogan's "Shave 'Em Dry" and Robert Johnson's seminal blues "If I Had Possession Over Judgement Day" with both authenticity and irony. For the most part it works well, largely due to the fact that Asylum Street Spankers know when to go for camp appeal and when to play it straight. The contributions of co-frontman Wammo take the former route, with originals "Lee Harvey" and "Startin' to Hate Country" dependent on humor for their effectiveness; the covers of pop standards "I'll See You in My Dreams" and "Brazil" are less affected. More surprising is the album's emotional range. How many groups could get away with sequencing a whimsical ode to marijuana ("Funny Cigarette," which succeeds based on its attention to vaudevillian detail, even though the band bettered it in 2000 with "Beer," which was essentially a rewrite) back to back with a darkly earnest glimpse at the underbelly of small-town America (Guy Forsyth's devastating "Hometown Boy")? Not many, and that boldness is the greatest strength of Spanks for the Memories, an album that's among the rawest yet most nuanced in the group's catalog. The 2002 reissue adds "Drunkard's Wave," a lurching barroom anthem, and "Black Eyed Blues," a comic tale of revenge that slyly echoes the bawdy early blues numbers the band holds dear.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/20/2007
Label: Yellow Dog Records
UPC: 0823800149621
catalogNumber: 21496
Rank: 14679

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Asylum Street Spankers   Primary Artist
Wammo   Vocals,Washboard,Group Member
Guy Forsyth   Harp,Vocals,Guitar (Resonator),Group Member
Kevin Smith   Upright Bass
Josh Arnson   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Pops Bayless   Mandolin,Ukulele,Vocals,Tenor Banjo
Stanley Smith   Clarinet,Vocals,Group Member
Mysterious John   Kazoo,Vocals,Group Member
Jimmie Dean   Vocals,Snare Drums,Brushes,Group Member
Christina Marrs   Ukulele,Vocals,Group Member
Olivier Giraud   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member

Technical Credits

Wammo   Composer,Liner Notes,Executive Producer
Walter Morgan   Engineer
Mark Rubin   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Todd Williams   Cover Photo
Josh Arnson   Arranger,Cover Photo
Mysterious John   Composer
Christina Marrs   Executive Producer
Gus Haenschen   Composer
Todd Sebastian Williams   Cover Photo
Joe Omelchuk   Reissue Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews