Special 20

Special 20

by Tim Easton

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Special 20

Following the release of The Truth About Us and Break Your Mother's Heart by Tim Easton, New West decided to re-release his 1998 debut, Special 20. Originally self-released on the Heathen label, the album represents the first flowering of a folk-roots singer\songwriter. One need only listen to a few songs to realize that Easton isn't the typical singer/songwriter with too many things to say or the typical roots rocker with more attitude than chops. The opener, "Just Like Home," is a surrealistic dream where "movie stars and drag queens are draggin' me to the poor farm." But the song works so well because it's also a fine rocker, which makes it a lot more fun than a Robert Earl Keen party song. The title track, on the other hand, delves into folk-country, relying on an odd percussion loop and Dobro to create a fresh roots sound. While the folk-based guitar songs eventually outnumber the rockers, the charm of Special 20 is its ability to mix up the arrangements and pacing over the ten selections, an approach that keeps the album interesting all the way through to "Rewind," the last track. For Easton fans, this reissue will offer a satisfying backward glance; for the alternative country crowd, Special 20 serves as a good example of how to mix electric and acoustic guitars without ever sounding like a cliché.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/24/2004
Label: New West Records
UPC: 0607396603022
catalogNumber: 6030

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tim Easton   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals,12-string Guitar,Foot Stomping
Jim Hoke   Bass Harmonica
Brad Jones   Bass,Glockenspiel,Harmonium,Hammond Organ
Perkins   Banjo,Dobro,Pedal Steel Guitar
Ross Rice   Drums
Robin Eaton   Chimes
Sean Beal   Guitar,Accordion,Electric Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Background Vocals,Guitar (Baritone)
Clare Surgeson   Background Vocals
Matt Surgeson   Bass,Double Bass
Phillip Park   Slide Guitar
Teresa Fyffe   Violin
Tramp   Mandolin
Justin Crooks   Snare Drums,Foot Stomping
Robin Easton   Chimes
Mickey Grimn   Percussion,Washboard
Annie Light Brown   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Michael Moore   Engineer,Remixing
Jim Hoke   Contributor
Brad Jones   Producer,Engineer
Townes Van Zandt   Quotes Researched & Compiled
Robin Eaton   Engineer
Michael Moore   Engineer,Remixing
Tim Easton   Contributor
Chas Krider   Cover Photo
Phillip Park   Contributor
Robin Easton   Producer,Engineer
Mickey Grimn   Contributor,Percussion Programming
Keith Novicki   Graphic Design,Cover Art

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews